Press release

IET announces new President-elect and Trustees

11 May 2017

The Institution of Engineering and Technology (IET) has announced that Nick Winser CBE will become its next President, taking up the position on 1 October.

Nick's career within the energy sector spans over 30 years, culminating in his recent appointment as Chairman of Energy Systems Catapult. Prior to this, Nick served on the Board of National Grid becoming its UK and European CEO in 2011.

Although the main focus of Nick's career has been within the energy sector, he also has a professional interest in the construction sector. A non-executive Director of Kier Group since 2009, he chairs the Safety, Health and Environment sub-committee of the Board.

Nick holds a BSc in Electrical Engineering and is a Fellow of the Royal Academy of Engineering and the Energy Institute. Nick was awarded a CBE in 2014.

Other appointments taking effect from 1 October include Dr Peter Bonfield who becomes Deputy President.

Peter is Chief Executive of the BRE Group. A materials engineer with a PhD in wind energy and the design of turbine blades, Peter joined BRE in 1992, holding a number of positions until in January 2012 he became Chief Executive of the BRE Group of companies. He is a Visiting Professor at Bath University, where he has also been awarded an Honorary Doctorate in Engineering.

Meanwhile, Jayne Bryant and Dr Simon Harrison both become IET Vice Presidents.

Simon Harrison is Group Strategic Development Manager at global engineering, management and development consultancy Mott MacDonald. He chairs the IET Energy Policy Panel, and the Future Power System Architecture Project, a collaboration for the UK government between the IET and the Energy Systems Catapult. He holds BSc and PhD degrees from Southampton University.

Jayne Bryant is a Fellow of the Royal Academy of Engineering and a Chartered Engineer with over 35 years’ experience in engineering, working for various parts of BAE Systems and its former companies.

There are also two new Trustees: Alyssa Randall and Samantha Hubbard.

These new appointments form part of the 16-member IET Board of Trustees, the governing body of the organisation.

Notes to editors:

  • The IET is one of the world’s largest engineering institutions with over 168,000 members in 150 countries. It is also the most interdisciplinary – to reflect the increasingly diverse nature of engineering in the 21st century. Energy, transport, manufacturing, information and communications, and the built environment: the IET covers them all.