Press release

The Institution of Engineering and Technology Achievement Awards search for the top engineering minds and talent

05 May 2014

The Institution of Engineering and Technology (IET) has begun a search to find the most exceptional individuals contributing to the advancement of science, engineering and technology for the annual IET Achievement Awards.

The IET is calling for people to nominate their colleagues for outstanding work, either in research and development or through leadership of an enterprise. This year, there are awards for all career stages, spanning all sectors and careers within engineering and technology.

The awards aim to inspire engineering excellence from those at the start of their careers, through to highly established professionals worldwide. Winners of these awards will receive a prestigious medal presented at the awards ceremony in London on 19 November 2014 and some winners will also receive prizes of up to £500.

Barry Brooks, IET President said: “As one of the world’s largest professional bodies for engineers and technicians, we are looking forward to being inspired by engineers who are delivering the best in engineering excellence, recognising both developing talent and those at the pinnacle of their career.

“To counter the risk of their great work going unnoticed, these awards put the spotlight on exceptional individuals who are contributing to the advancement of engineering.”

Last year’s winner of the IET’s most prestigious prize, the Faraday Medal, was Professor Sir Michael Pepper, the Pender Professor of Nanoelectronics at University College London. On winning the Faraday Medal he said: “I was greatly honoured by this award with its distinguished history. I feel that it shines a light on talent in the field of nanotechnology and I hope it goes on to encourage young people to begin their careers in engineering.”

The award scheme welcomes entries from those who can demonstrate an exceptional engineering contribution in developing a product, service or process.

There are four IET Prestige Medals and six IET Achievement Medals to be awarded:

Faraday Medal: The most prestigious of the IET Achievement medals, awarded for notable scientific or industrial achievement globally, within engineering or for conspicuous service to the advancement of science, engineering and technology or for life-time achievement in science, engineering or technology.

Mountbatten Medal: Celebrating individuals who have made a significant contribution, to the promotion of either electronics or information technology and in the dissemination of the understanding of electronics and information technology to young people, or adults.

Mensforth Manufacturing Gold Medal: The Mensforth Manufacturing Gold Medal is awarded to candidates who have made major and distinguished contributions in the manufacturing sector, whether the advancement of manufacturing engineering technology or manufacturing management.

J J Thomson Medal for Electronics: The J J Thomson Medal is awarded to candidates who have made major and distinguished contributions in electronics.

IET Achievement Medals: Up to six IET Achievement Medals are awarded to individuals who have made major and distinguished contributions in the various sectors of engineering, technology or applied science. The judging panel will look for outstanding and sustained excellence in one or more activities, for example, research and development, innovation, design, manufacturing, technical management, promotion of engineering and technology.

IET Achievement Awards for Young Professionals

Sir Henry Royce Award: Awarded to an outstanding young engineering/IT professional who has excelled in the workplace within the last three years of their work in industry or for the profession.  

Mike Sargeant Award: Awarded to a young engineering or IT professional who is judged to have made the most significant progress in their career over more than three years.

Paul Fletcher Award: Awarded to an IET young professional volunteer for outstanding achievement in contributing to the activities of the IET.

To find out more about the IET Achievement Awards, visit www.theiet.org/achievement. Nominations should be made online by Friday 30h May 2014.

Media enquiries to: 

Hannah Kellett
External Communications Manager

Tel: +44 (0)1438 767336
Mob: +44 (0)7738 602426
Email: HKellett@theiet.org

Notes to editors:

More about the IET Engineering Excellence Awards Series

  • In 2013, the IET provided over £1,000,000 in awards, prizes and scholarships, to celebrate excellence and innovation in the sector and encourage the next generation of engineers and technicians.
  • The IET will maintain this investment in 2014 with its portfolio of awards which includes Diamond Jubilee scholarships, Apprentice and Technician awards, scholarships in India, the Present around the World competition and the IET A F Harvey Engineering Research Prize.
  • For more information visit http:/www.theiet.org/awards