Start of main content


Sir John O'Reilly HonFIET FREng FLSW

Sir John O’Reilly, Chairman, NICC (Standards) Ltd and Chairman, Science and Engineering Research Council, A*STAR, Singapore is the Chair of the IET A F Harvey Search and Selection Panel.

He has a background in engineering and science research spanning industry, academia and government, is a  visiting Professor at University College London, RAEng Industrial Visiting Professor at University of Huddersfield, Board member of ERA  Foundation Ltd and of the Royal Commission for the Exhibition of 1851 where he also chairs the Engineering and Industry committee. 

Previous appointments include Director-General overseeing research, innovation and higher education for UK government, Vice-Chancellor Cranfield University, Chief Executive Engineering and Physical Sciences Research Council as well as a practicing researcher in the scientific civil service,  universities, and industry.

Professor Jennifer Bernhard

Jennifer Bernhard is the Donald Biggar Willett Professor in the ECE Department at the University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign and the Director of the Illinois Applied Research Institute (ARI).  She was previously the Associate Dean for Research in the Illinois Grainger College of Engineering.  She is an IEEE Fellow and a former member of the IEEE Board of Directors and the ASEE Engineering Research Council Executive Board.

Professor Bernhard is a globally recognised expert in multifunctional reconfigurable antennas and their system-level benefits. Her research group also develops antenna synthesis and packaging techniques for electrically small, planar, and integrated antennas for wireless sensor and communication systems. 

Dr Myles H Capstick

Myles Capstick is the Associate Director and Head of Hardware at the IT’IS Foundation for Research on Information Technologies in Society in Zurich, Switzerland. Before joining IT’IS in 2006 he has been a Senior Lecturer at the University of York, UK. He is also CTO of ZMT Zurich MedTech AG, a spin-off company of ETH Zurich and the IT’IS Foundation since it was founded in 2006.

Dr Capstick's principal areas of research focus on the development of new therapy and treatment devices for neurostimulation and cancer therapy, novel and optimized electromagnetic (EM) sensor technologies, exposure assessment and dosimetry for safety and compliance evaluation for EM fields in complex environments, and EM exposure systems for biomedical research and medical compliance applications.

Professor Hugh Griffiths OBE FREng PhD DSc(Eng) FIET, FIEEE

Hugh Griffiths holds the THALES/Royal Academy Chair of RF Sensors at University College London. His research interests include radar systems and signal processing (particularly bistatic radar and synthetic aperture radar), and antenna measurement techniques. 

He serves as Editor-in-Chief of the IET Radar, Sonar, and Navigation journal. He has published over five hundred papers and technical articles in the fields of radar, antennas and sonar. 

Professor Griffiths has received several awards and prizes, including the IEEE Picard Medal (2017), IET Achievement Medal (2017), the IEEE AES Mimno Award (2015), the IET A F Harvey Prize (2012) and the IEEE AES Nathanson Award (1996).

Professor Ashok JhunJhunwala

Ashok Jhunjhunwala, Institute Professor at IIT Madras, received his B.Tech degree from IIT Kanpur and MS and PhD from University of Maine, USA. He was a faculty at Washington State University, USA before joining IIT Madras. He was on sabbatical from IITM 2017-18 and was Principal Advisor to Minister of Power, MNRE, and Railways, Government of India, New Delhi.

Professor Jhunjhunwala is a pioneer in nurturing Industry-Academia interaction in India towards R&D, Innovation and Product Development. He conceived and built India’s first university affiliated business park (IIT Madras Research Park) to promote Industry-Academia R&D collaboration. He is fellow of IEEE, INSA, NAS, IAS, INAE and WWRF and a member of National Academy of Engineering (NAE), USA.

Professor Linda Katehi

Linda Katehi is the O’Donnell Endowed Chair in Engineering and a Distinguished TEES Chair Professor of Electronics in the Electrical and Computer Engineering and the Material Science and Engineering departments at Texas A&M.

She is a member of the National Academy of Engineering (NAE), the American Academy for Arts and Sciences and the National Academy of Innovators (NAI) and a fellow of IEEE.

She chaired the President’s Committee for the National Medal of Science and was the chair of the Secretary of Commerce’s Committee for the National Medal of Technology and Innovation.

She is a Fellow of the American Association for the Advancement of Science (AAAS). From 2018-19 she was the President (WEPAN) Women in Engineering Professional Advocacy Network.

Professor Katehi’s research focuses on the design and development of intelligent communication electronics.

Professor Philip Russell FRS

Philip Russell is an emeritus founding Director of the Max-Planck Institute for the Science of Light in Erlangen, Germany. 

He is a Fellow of the Royal Society and the Optical Society (OSA, now Optica) and the recipient of the 2000 OSA Joseph Fraunhofer Award/Robert M. Burley Prize, the 2005 Thomas Young Prize of the IOP, the 2005 Körber Prize for European Science, the 2013 EPS Light Prize, the 2014 Berthold Leibinger Zukunftspreis, the 2015 IEEE Photonics Award and the 2018 Rank Prize.

Professor Russell was OSA's President in 2015.

Dr Katsumi Midorikawa

Katsumi Midorikawa is Director of RIKEN Center for Advanced Photonics and Head of Attosecond Science Research Team, RIKEN, Japan.

He has a background in laser engineering and science including ultrafast intense lasers, nonlinear optics and their applications to ultrafast phenomena, microprocessing, and multiphoton spectroscopy.

He currently focuses his research on attosecond pulse generation and applications by high-order harmonic generation.

Dr Midorikawa is a Fellow of IEEE Photonics Society, Optical Society of America, American Physical Society, Japan Society of Applied Physics, and the Laser Society of Japan.