Press release

World leading engineers win at IET Achievement Awards

15 November 2018

  • 14 of the world’s top engineering and technology talent honoured with medals for services to the industry
  • Top medals go to Professor William Webb for his significant contribution to the advancement of 5G and Professor Nigel Allinson for his pioneering work in the advancement of complex medical imaging instruments for cancer treatment and crime scene investigation

The Institution of Engineering and Technology (IET) has named the winners of its 2018 Achievement Awards. One of this year’s most significant awards, the Mountbatten Medal, goes to Professor William Webb for his outstanding contribution in the field of telecommunication and 5G.

The IET Achievement Awards exist to recognise individuals from all over the world who have made exceptional contributions to the advancement of engineering, technology and science in any sector. This can be through research and development in their respective technical field or through their leadership of an enterprise.

Professor William Webb was one of the founding directors of Neul, a company developing machine-to-machine technologies, which was subsequently sold to Huawei in 2014 for $25m. As IET’s youngest former President, he led initiatives to broaden the IET’s reach and make its output more relevant to the non-engineering community. He has also been instrumental in pioneering changes to radio spectrum management as the Director for UK's Ofcom.

Another top accolade this year goes to Professor Nigel Allinson from the University of Lincoln, who receives the J J Thomson Medal for his significant work in the advancement of complex medical imaging instruments for the optimum treatment of cancer using proton beam therapy. In addition, his work on the transmission of fingerprints from crime scenes to bureaus is used by UK Police, reducing time-to-indent from days to minutes.

On receiving his award, William commented: “It’s wonderful to get peer recognition as a sign that my work has been noticed and is making a difference. It is also a great motivator to keep actively working across the industry to achieve more in the future.”

Nigel added: “I am humbled to be recognised alongside incredible engineers and technicians for the work we do to advance the world around us. These innovations have the power to make an incredible difference to people’s lives and it is an honour to be recognised for my contribution.”

Mike Carr, IET President, said: “We are honoured to present these talented individuals with our top Achievement Medals. They have each excelled in their professions and have made a vast contribution as pioneers of important areas in the engineering and technology industries. They should all be very proud of their achievements – with each award being extremely well-deserved.”

Both medallists join 12 other winners, who were nominated by their peers as leading engineers and technicians in their field.

The Achievement Awards, which took place on Wednesday 14 November 2018, are part of the IET’s Achievement Awards and Scholarships programme, which this year provided over £1million in awards, prizes and scholarships to celebrate excellence and research in the sector and encourage the next generation of engineers and technicians. All IET awards seek to inspire and reward engineering excellence, including apprentices at the start of their careers, through to reputable, established professional engineers and technicians.

Find out more about the Achievement Awards here: www.theiet.org/achievement.



Full list of Achievement Award Winners

  • Mountbatten Medal – Professor William Webb
  • J J Thomson Medal for Electronics – Professor Nigel Allinson
  • Achievement Medals – Dr Paul Gosling, Professor Adrian Hilton; Professor Nabeel A Riza and Professor Alex Yakovlev
  • IET Volunteer Medal – John Harvey
  • Paul Fletcher Award for Young Professionals – Dr Darren Williams and Dr Tan Teng Hwang
  • Mike Sargeant Career Achievement Medal – Dr Myeong-Lok Seol
  • Sir Henry Royce Medal for Young Professionals – Sophie Harker
  • Apprentice of the Year – Phoebe Loveridge
  • Technician of the Year – Neeraj Sharma
  • Armed Forces Technician of the Year – Sgt Daniel Hardwick

More about the IET Awards

The IET’s Mountbatten Medal was established by the National Electronics Council in 1992 and named after The Earl Mountbatten of Burma, the first Chairman of the Council. The Earl Mountbatten of Burma was President of the Institution of Electronic and Radio Engineers (IERE) in 1947-48 and 1961-62, which merged with the Institution of Electrical Engineers (now the IET) in 1998. He was also an Honorary Fellow.

  • The IET provides over £1,000,000 per annum in awards, prizes and scholarships, to celebrate excellence and innovation in the sector and encourage the next generation of engineers and technicians.
  • The portfolio of awards includes Diamond Jubilee scholarships, Apprentice and Technician awards, scholarships in India, the Present around the World competition and the IET A F Harvey Engineering Research Prize.
  • For more information visit https://www.theiet.org/awards 

About the IET

  • Looking for images to accompany your engineering stories? Use the IET’s media image library to highlight the exciting, creative and dynamic world of engineering.
  • Interview opportunities are available with IET spokespeople from a broad range of engineering and technology disciplines including cyber-security, energy, engineering skills, innovation, manufacturing, technology, transport and women in engineering.
  • The IET is one of the world’s largest engineering institutions with over 169,000 members in 150 countries. It is also the most interdisciplinary – to reflect the increasingly diverse nature of engineering in the 21st century. Energy, transport, manufacturing, information and communications, and the built environment: the IET covers them all.
  • The IET is working to engineer a better world by inspiring, informing and influencing our members, engineers and technicians, and all those who are touched by, or touch, the work of engineers.
  • We want to build the profile of engineering and change outdated perceptions about engineering in order to tackle the skills gap. This includes encouraging more women to become engineers and growing the number of engineering apprentices.
  • For more information, visit www.theiet.org
  • Follow the IET on Twitter.

Media enquiries to:

Hannah Kellett
External Communications Manager
T: +44 (0)7738602426
E: hkellett@theiet.org

Notes to editors: