Start of main content

The Churchill Medallists

The SoE Honorary Fellow presentation to Winston Churchill 1946

The SoE Honorary Fellow presentation to Winston Churchill 1946

The Churchill Medal was the Premier award of the Society of Engineers. Sir Winston Churchill gave approval for the title of the medal in November 1946 when he was made an Honorary Fellow of the Society of Engineers and the first award was made in 1952. Originally the medal was awarded to an individual once in alternate even years in respect of an important contribution to contemporary engineering, an original engineering project or development solely conceived by the nominee and executed under their supervision, or a project or development to which the nominee had made the major engineering contribution.

In 2005 the Society of Engineers was absorbed by the Institution of Incorporated Engineers, now the IET. The Churchill Medal continues to be awarded today as The Joint Professional Engineering Institutions Churchill Medal and recognizes a team or individual for outstanding achievements and contributions to engineering and technical advancement in support of military operations.

Previous recipients

2018/2019 The Forward Mechanical Section of HMS ASTUTE
2017/2018 Chief Technician Peter Wakefield RAF
2016/2017 Royal Navy Submarine Mechanical Specialists
2015/2016 Corporal Bernard Donoghue RAF
2014/2015 UK/US Royal Signals Infantry Team
2013/2014 Sergeant Kevin Cuthbert REME
2012/2013 Captain Pip Lines REME
2011/2012 Sgt Simon Nurse RSignals
2010/2011 Flt Lt David Ramsey RAF
2004 Neil Jenkins
1994 Professor Alan Wells
1990 Sir John Fox
1988 Ralph Tony Sarich
1986 Charles Thomas Elliott
1984 Professor William Alexander Gambling
1982 Harold John Musgrove
1980 No award made
1978 Sir John Rix
1976 Sir Godfrey Newbold Hounsfield
1974 Frank Reginald Farmer
1972 Francis Thomas Bacon
1970 Sir Gilbert Roberts
1968 Sir Stanley George Hooker
1966 Sir Christopher Sydney Cockerell
1964 Sir Alfred Charles Bernard Lovell
1962 Sir Geoffrey de Havilland
1960 Ernest Walter Hives, first Baron Hives
1958 Sir John Douglas Cockroft
1956 Christopher Hinton, Baron Hinton of Bankside
1954 Sir William Wallace
1952 Sir Frank Whittle