Start of main content

Churchill Medal Winners 2022

The Churchill Medal Award (CMA) is the most prestigious award for engineering and innovation in the Armed Forces and MOD and is awarded every year on behalf of the Joint Professional Engineering Institutions.

Taking place in the Maxwell Library this year's ceremony was attended by over 90 guests from across the Armed Forces, other PEI’s and this year's sponsors for the event DSEI.

Those who attended were treated to a champagne reception followed by a 3-course meal before the presentation of the medal.

Our 2022 finalists' citations were read by former IET President and Chief of Material Sir Julian Young before he presented the medal to the winner.

This year's Churchill Medal was won by Warrant Officer First Class (Foreman of the Signals) Tom Wilson.

Entirely on his own initiative, Foreman Wilson designed and built a prototype that secured £500k from Defence Digital (DD) Cyber Solutions to implement a system that enabled Defensive Cyber Operations. 

During the development and trialling phases, Foreman Wilson also identified that some existing products and processes, if utilised slightly differently, could also provide availability metrics, improving system-wide service management. 

Continuing this logical approach, he used that premise to design, build and accredit a ‘Single-Pane-of-Glass’ capability that safely analyses various networks from across different security domains, on one common platform. 

This technology is now heavily utilised within the Army Cyber Information Security Operating Centre (CyISOC), in support of HQ Allied Rapid Reaction Corps at Innsworth and is also employed by the Air CyISOC; this system has Defence-wide utility.

This year's finalists were WO1 (FofS) Tom Wilson (Winner), Dstl System of Systems Project team, Sgt Neil Pickup, SSgt Robin Craig and the 90 Signals Unit RAVEN Team, all of which were presented with a certificate by Sir Julian.

After the award was presented guests were able to network and catch up with their colleagues and peers whilst interviews were filmed for

We thank all who attended this year’s ceremony and contributed to the evening being a huge success and helping make the Churchill Medal the most prestigious award for engineering and innovation in the Armed Forces.

The Churchill Medal is awarded jointly by the Institution of Engineering and Technology, the Institute of Marine Engineering, Science and Technology (IMarEST), the Royal Aeronautical Society (RAeS), the Institution of Mechanical Engineers (IMechE), the Institution of Royal Engineers (InstRE), the Institution of Civil Engineers (ICE), the Society of Operations Engineers (SOE) and the British Computer Society (BCS).