Start of main content

Healthcare Technologies Student and Early Career awards

These have been designed to encourage and support the work and research of academics and newly qualified professionals in healthcare, medical and biomedical engineering arenas.

Entries for 2022 are now closed


Dennis Hill Award (£400)

The prize is awarded annually to the student on an MEng or MSc programme who has, during the past year, submitted the best individual project dissertation in the general field of Biomedical Engineering and cognate subjects (including Electronic and Electrical Engineering, Physics, Healthcare Technologies and Health Informatics). The purpose of the prize is to encourage and reward excellence in the field of study.

William James Award (£500)

The award is presented to encourage, support and recognise the outstanding work of PhD or EngD students demonstrating a high level of commitment and advanced understanding of Biomedical Engineering.

J.A. Lodge Award (£600)

The J A Lodge Award is open to all Electronic or Electrical Engineers working at the early stage of their careers in the field of research and development within Biomedical Engineering. Applications are encouraged from people in both industry and academia.

For applicants in universities ‘early-stage’ corresponds to being within five years of their last degree (PhD/EngD degree not conferred before January 2016). For applicants in industry, it corresponds to being within ten years of graduating from their last degree.