Start of main content

Shortlisted candidates

Professor Coskun Kocabas

Coskun Kocabas, Professor in 2D Device Materials at the University of Manchester and National Graphene Institute. His research interests include optoelectronic applications of graphene and other 2D materials. Kocabas has made significant contributions for controlling light with graphene-based devices over a broad spectral range from visible to microwave.

Professor James Durrant

James Durrant is Professor of Photochemistry in the Department of Chemistry, Imperial College London and Sêr Cymru Solar Professor, College of Engineering, University of Swansea. His research focuses on the use of transient laser spectroscopy and optoelectronic technniques to investigate the function of new materials for sustainable energy conversion, including materials for artificial photosynthesis, solar cells and electrolysis. More widely, as part of the SPECIFIC IKC, he leads the EPSRC programme grant ATIP, and at Imperial leads its Centre for Processable Electronics (the CPE).

Professor John Travers

John C. Travers is Professor of Physics at Heriot-Watt University, Edinburgh and director of the Laboratory of Ultrafast Physics and Optics. He creates new light sources with tailored properties and has made multiple significant contributions to ultrafast nonlinear optics. He is recognised as a pioneer in using gas-filled hollow waveguides for ultrafast frequency conversion, pulse compression and supercontinuum generation.

He was elected Fellow of Optica (OSA) in 2020.

Professor Joyce Poon

Joyce Poon is the Managing Director at the Max Planck Institute of Microstructure Physics, Professor of Electrical and Computer Engineering at the University of Toronto, and an Honorary Professor in the Faculty of Electrical Engineering and Computer Science at the Technical University of Berlin.  She currently serves as a Director-at-Large for Optica (formerly the Optical Society, OSA). She and her team specialize in integrated photonics on silicon. 

She is an Optica Fellow (formerly OSA) and a Fellow of the IEEE.

Dr Koji Sugioka

Koji Sugioka is a Team Leader of Advanced Laser Processing Research Team at RIKEN Center for Advanced Photonics. He is internationally renowned for his works on laser micro and nanofabrication, and ultrafast laser processing. He is a vice president of the International Academy of Photonics and Laser Engineering, and a Fellow of the International Society for Optics and Photonics, the Optical Society of America and the Japan Society of Applied Physics. He is an editor-in-chief of Journal of Laser Micro/Nanoengineering, and an editor of Nanomaterials, International Journal of Extreme Manufacturing, Opto-Electronic Advances and Advanced Optical Technology.

Professor Laura Na Liu

Laura Na Liu is a Professor at the University of Stuttgart and became the Director of the 2. Physics Institute. Her research interest is multi-disciplinary. She works at the interface between nanophotonics, biology, and chemistry. Laura Na Liu has obtained many prestigious awards, including the Rising Researcher Award (SPIE) (2019), Adolph Lomb Medal (2019), The Nano Letters Young Investigator Lectureship Award (ACS) (2019), EU-40 Materials Prize (E-MRS) (2019). She was elected Max Planck Fellow and OSA fellow, both in 2020.