Shop cart


Churchill Medal Award 2013/14

The Professional Engineering Institutions (PEI) Award.

Celebrating achievement in engineering and technical advancement in support of military operations, the IET is proud to lead on awarding of the Professional Engineering Institutions (PEI)* Churchill Medal.

This years’ Churchill Medal Award ceremony took place on 9 October 2014 at Austin Court, Birmingham. The event was generously sponsored by one of IET’s Corporate Partners, BAE Systems to whom we are very grateful for their support which helped make the day such a success.

Image of Sergeant Kevin Cuthbert with the churchill medal and certificate

We are proud to announce that the winner of the 2013/2014 Churchill Medal Award is Sergeant Kevin Cuthbert REME for for his excellent work in delivering technical solutions to operational engineering problems, alongside outstanding professionalism and leadership in exploiting opportunities far beyond his remit as a Non Commissioned Officer (NCO). Sergeant Cuthbert, upon accepting the award, expressed his gratitude for the recognition and extended his thanks to his team, who without their support, he would not have been able to carry out such exceptional work.

We must take this opportunity to thank those who attended the ceremony, the day was a huge success and we are delighted and honoured to have hosted this prestigious event and send our sincere congratulations to all of this year's finalists on behalf of the Professional Engineering Institutions (PEIs).

Photos from the day can be found on our Flickr account and you can also view our press release. The day was also filmed by the British Forces Broadcasting Service (BFBS), the video of which can be found below:

Please visit Churchill Medal Award 2014/15 for more information about next year's award and previous winners.

* Consisting of the Institution of Engineering and Technology, the Institute of Marine Engineering, Science and Technology, the Royal Aeronautical Society, the Institution of Mechanical Engineers, the Institution of Royal Engineers, the Society of Operations Engineers and the Institution of Civil Engineers.