Welcome Login

The Mountbatten Medallists

Earl Mountbatten of Burma (1900-1979)

Naval officer and statesman. In 1929, Mountbatten was placed in charge of wireless instruction at Portsmouth. Finding the teaching materials inadequate, he set up a drawing school to produce standardised drawings of every wireless circuit for the Admiralty Handbook. In 1931, Mountbatten was appointed Fleet Wireless Officer in the Mediterranean. In 1943, he became Supreme Allied Commander of the South East Asia Command. After the war, Mountbatten was appointed Viceroy of India, a post he held until independence in 1948, and in 1955 became First Sea Lord. He was President of the IERE in 1947 and 1961.

The Mountbatten Medal

The Mountbatten Medal was established by the National Electronics Council in 1992. The Medal is awarded annually for an outstanding contribution, or contributions over a period, to the promotion of electronics or information technology and their application. Names and post-nominal letters appear in the list below as recorded in the Roll of Mountbatten Medallists, held in the IET Archives.

2018 Professor William Webb FREng BEng MBA PhD DSc DTech CEng FIET FIEEE
2017 Professor Shuji Nakamura
2016 Professor Jean Armstrong BSc MSc PhD FIEAust FIEEE MIET
2015 Dr Alan Finkel AO FTSE FIEAust
2014 Dr Ronjon Nag BSc SM PhD FIET
2013 Dr Ian Nussey OBE FREng HonFIET
2012 Professor Vincent Fusco FREng BSc PhD DSc CEng FIET
2011 Professor Peter William McOwan BSc MSc PhD MIET CSci FBCS
2010 Eli Yablonovitch
2009 David Ogden
2008 Professor Kevin Warwick BSc PhD DIC DSc(Eng) FCGI CEng
2007 Professor Andrew Blake FREng FRS
2006 Mr John P Leighfield CBE
2005 Sir David Brown FREng BSc DMS CEng FIEE
2004 Professor Andy Hopper FREng BSc PhD CEng FIEE
2001 Professor David N Payne FRS
2000 Dr Hermann Hauser
1999 Mrs Steve Shirley OBE BSc CEng FBCS
1998 J David Rhodes OBE FEng FRS
1997 Professor Tom Kilbum CBE FEng FRS & Professor Maurice V Wilkes FRS FEng
1996 Tim Berners-Lee
1995 Peter Bonfield CBE FEng
1994 Dr David Potter MA PhD
1993 Professor W A Gambling PhD DSc FEng FRS HonFIEE
1992 Sir Ernest Harrison OBE FCA CompanionIEE HonFCGI