Start of main content

Our Board of Trustees for the Session 2021/22 has made IET history with an equal split of men and women

This is a huge milestone within the IET, where we are continually working towards equal opportunities for all IET members, volunteers, and colleagues.

We have been gradually approaching this for some time and now we have reached just that for the next Session. 

The 16 Trustees for the next Session will be:


* Air Marshal Sir Julian Young KBE CB FREng CEng FIET

Past President

* Professor Danielle George MBE BSc MSc PhD CEng FIET

Deputy Presidents

* Professor Bob Cryan CBE DL FREng MBA DSc CEng FIET

+ Dr Andy Harter CBE DL FREng MA PhD CEng FIET

Vice Presidents

+ Dr Bicky Bhangu OBE BEng MSc MBA PhD FIET 1

* Professor Phil Blythe FREng BSc(Eng) CEng FIET

+ Ms Rachel Hurst FREng MSc FIET

† Dr Gopichand Katragadda BE MS PhD FIET 1

* Ms Dawn Ohlson MEng CEng FIET

† Professor Sarah Spurgeon OBE FREng BSc DPhil CEng FIET

Ordinary Members

* Miss Yewande Akinola MBE HonFREng BEng MSc CEng FIET
* Dr Ian Belger BSc PhD CEng FIET

† Mrs Katy Deacon BEng MEng CEng MIET

† Miss Abbie Hutty MEng CEng FIMechE MIET 2

+ Professor Paul Needham PhD CEng FIET

+ Professor Kate Sugden BSc MSc PhD MIET

* will retire from that office on 30 September 2022

+ will retire from that office on 30 September 2023

† will retire from that office on 30 September 2024

1 resident outside the UK

2 under 36 at date of election

Our Board of Trustees is an elected board, and they manage the property and affairs of the organisation in accordance with the Royal Charter and Bye-laws.

Find out more about our Board of Trustees: