Start of main content

IET announce the 2021 Postgraduate Scholarship Award winners

All of our prizes recognise excellence and are awarded on a competitive basis, and this year we awarded seven students for their high quality and impactful research.

Congratulations to all of our winners:

Daniel Hoare - IET Postgraduate Scholarship for an outstanding researcher

Daniel Hoare is a PhD student designing and fabricating nanosensors for integration into implantable vascular devices. By implanting sensors into a patient’s body, he hopes that this will enable doctors to be able to remotely monitor conditions without the need for them to go into hospital. Most importantly this will enable early detection of diseases and as such early treatment which will hopefully lead to better patient outcomes.

Bochen Shi - Hudswell International Research Scholarship

Bochen Shi is a PhD candidate at Tsinghua University in China focusing his research on the discrete state event-driven modelling and simulation of power electronics systems and the development of DSIM software. His research speeds-up the simulation of large-scale power converters by hundreds/thousands of times with complete accuracy and eliminates the convergence problems when modelling the nanosecond-level switching transients. It advances the design and prototyping of power electronics systems among a range of applications.

Jennifer Morris - Leslie H Paddle Scholarship

Jennifer Morris is a PhD student at the University of Strathclyde. Her research focuses on the control of power electronic converters for connecting offshore wind farms to weak AC networks via HVDC. The ongoing shift from synchronous generation to renewable energy is causing power systems worldwide to become ‘weaker’.

Using a variety of stability analysis, simulation, and hardware methods, her research aims to better understand and quantify the mechanisms causing instability for power converters in weak grids

Chao Gong - IET Postgraduate Prize

Chao Gong is a PhD student at the University of York and his research interest is safety of high-voltage powertrain based electric vehicles. The charm of electric vehicles has been inspiring him to learn more about them. As a high-tech product, the engineering technologies involved in electric vehicles are undoubtedly complicated and only by pursuing a higher-level study in electric vehicle engineering can he get closer to them. He believes pursuing an engineering-related PhD could enrich his knowledge and technical skills to engineer a better world with sustainable transportation.

Kyle Walker - IET Postgraduate Prize

Kyle Walker is currently a PhD student at the University of Edinburgh, where he is the recipient of an EPSRC Doctoral Training Partnership Studentship. During his time studying an integrated masters studying Mechanical and Electrical Engineering, Kyle became interested in robotics and how creative and innovative the field is, as well as being highly interdisciplinary. His current research focuses on developing predictive control methods for subsea vehicles, with the aim of improving their ability to operate in adverse conditions around marine renewable devices. In doing this, the overall operation and maintenance costs of these devices will be reduced thus improving cost efficiency, helping contribute to the shift towards renewable energy generation.

Eva Bestelink - IET Postgraduate Prize

Eva Bestelink is a PhD student at the University of Surrey. She was a mature student undergoing a career change which led her to a BEng in Electronics. Soon after joining, she quickly realised that semiconductor devices were her true calling and, using her previous experience from her MSc in Neuroscience, could see parallels between neural behaviour and unconventional ways of operating transistors. During her undergraduate studies, she co-invented with Dr Radu Sporea a new type of thin-film transistor (TFT), the multimodal transistor (MMT), which is now the main focus of her research. The MMT’s operation differs from conventional TFTs, contributing to advanced functionality with robust performance in a compact footprint.

Stephanie Adeyemo - IET Postgraduate Prize

Stephanie Adeyemo is a PhD student at the University of Cambridge. She is an alumna of Swansea University where she completed her Bachelor’s degree in Electronic and Electrical Engineering. Her PhD research work focuses on utilising terahertz spectroscopy, a contact-free and non-destructive optical characterisation technique, to study the optoelectronic properties of nanomaterials particularly of tin-based metal halide perovskites and nanowires. By studying the optoelectronic properties of these materials, she gains insight into the fundamental photophysical mechanisms important to guide the development of high performing devices for applications such as photovoltaics.