IET Fellows and Member recognised in New Year Honours listing

Michelle Richmond FIET and Professor Hugh Griffiths FIET were both nominated by the IET for services to the engineering profession.

Michelle Richmond is Director of Membership and Professional Development at the IET and has received an MBE in recognition of her work as an ambassador for women in engineering, for spearheading ground-breaking education initiatives aimed at encouraging young people into Science, Technology, Engineering and Maths (STEM) and setting engineering standards.

Michelle joined the IET in 2006 and has taken Executive responsibility for a range of major activities, based around the IET’s ‘Professional Home for Life’ for Engineers and Technicians programme. These include Faraday Challenge Days, our UK delivery of the IET First Lego League competition, Partnership programmes with Businesses and Academia, the launch of Registered Professional Electrician certification, as well as championing our programmes to promote diversity and inclusion in Engineering.

Michelle received the IET Young Woman Engineer of the Year award in 1990 and is currently on the Board of Trustees for the Engineering Council.

Michelle said: “It is a privilege and thrill to receive this award, which was totally unexpected. The importance of engineering cannot be underestimated in the world today and the next generation needs to realise what an exciting career opportunity engineering and technology presents.”

Professor Hugh Griffiths FIET is a leading authority in the field of radar research and has been awarded an OBE for his ground-breaking research in the continuing development of radar systems, including bistatic radar and its applications.

Hugh is the Thales / Royal Academy of Engineering Chair of RF Sensors at University College London and is a long-established volunteer for the IET.

He has contributed voluntarily to the IET throughout his career, as member and chair of technical interest groups and honorary editor of professional peer-reviewed publications. He has made similar contributions to the IEEE Aerospace and Electronic Systems Society, of which he was President from 2012-2014.

He received the IET A F Harvey Prize in 2012 – a global research prize which was awarded to aid his developmental research into the topic of bistatic radar.

Hugh said: “I am thrilled at this honour, which recognises the importance of radar in the UK and worldwide. I am hugely grateful to all of the engineers and scientists who I have worked with and learned from over the years.”

Another IET Fellow to receive an Honour is Juergen Maier FIET, Chief Executive of Siemens PLC, who has received a CBE for services to UK/German relations. Juergen is a proactive voice for UK manufacturing and has helped bring high skilled jobs and investment to the UK.

IET Fellow and Chartered Engineer David Hughes, Head of Uniper’s Engineering Academy, was awarded an MBE for services to Education, in recognition of the work he has done in promoting and growing apprenticeship delivery.

IET Member Roger Medwell, Coventry and Warwickshire Local Network committee member and former chair, has received an MBE for his services to the community in Coventry, West Midlands.

Congratulations to this year’s recipients. If you’ve received an Award that you’d like to share in Member News, please email