Welcome Login

Geotechnical engineer wins Technician of the Year Award

Neeraj Kumar Sharma, a Geotechnical Engineer from Bangalore, India was awarded the Technician of the Year Award at this year’s IET Achievement Awards.

Neeraj works in the India office of Atkins as a member of the SNC-Lavalin Group and received the award for his extensive experience and strong technical skills in geotechnical design of transportation infrastructure such as bridges, sign gantries, retaining walls and slopes, working on engineering projects across the globe.

Neeraj has consistently challenged the traditional ways of working in a design environment, and actively sought opportunities to streamline and automate design processes resulting in higher efficiency, lower costs and minimising errors.

On winning the award, Neeraj said: “It is a great privilege to be recognised as the “Winner” in this category among a pool of such inspirational finalists. This award is a fantastic way to promote engineering among my colleagues and friends and put the spotlight on the younger engineers working in our industry and beyond. Special thanks to the judging panel for shortlisting individuals that represent the broad spectrum of the talent that we possess in the engineering and tech community.”

The Apprentice and Technician Awards are part of the IET’s Awards and Scholarships programme and aim to recognise individuals who stand out from their peers and have made impressive achievements in their area of expertise.

IET President Mike Carr said: “This is a fantastic achievement and Neeraj should be very proud to win this award against strong competition. The standard of this year’s entries made the judging extremely difficult. All of the IET Technician of the Year Award finalists demonstrated skills and knowledge through their work that went far beyond their roles. They have taken on challenging tasks and, through innovation and determination to succeed, have brought real benefits to those they work for and with.”

Congratulating the winner, Shekhar Sanyal, IET India Director and Country Head, said: “The IET has been a thought-leader in the engineering space and has always been on the lookout for young minds who are passionate about promoting engineering to the world. Through these awards, we aim to recognise such individuals and honour their achievements. We are proud of Neeraj and look forward to recognising more such achievers in the coming years.

For a full list of this year’s IET Achievement Award Apprentice and Technician of the Year Awards winners and finalists, please visit the IET Achievement Award winners webpage. Nominations are now open for the 2019 IET Achievement Awards.