Welcome Login

IET Fellows, members and volunteers receive prestigious awards

The Queen’s Birthday Honours list 2018 was published on 10 June 2018. Among the recipients to receive Honours were two past IET Presidents, Naomi Climer and John Loughhead.

Naomi Climer FIET has received a CBE for services to the engineering profession. In 2015 Naomi became the first female President in the IET’s history and is one of the most senior British women in the communications industry. During her presidency she used her role to promote engineering education and employment opportunities for young women in particular, raising the level of public awareness and debate.

Professor John Loughhead FIET was IET President in 2008 and is Chief Scientific Adviser at the UK Department for Business, Energy and Industrial Strategy, previously the UK Department of Energy and Climate Change. Professor Loughhead has been awarded the title Companion of the Order of Bath for services to research and development in the energy sector.

Professor Steve Cowley HonFIET has received a Knighthood. Professor Cowley was awarded an Honorary Fellowship from the IET in 2015 in recognition of his contributions to plasma and fusion science. Professor Cowley is President of Corpus Christi College at the University of Oxford and has been recognised for his work in nuclear fusion.

Two members of the IET Manufacturing Policy Panel have been awarded CBEs. Dr Colin Herron FIET received a CBE for services to business and the renewable energy sector. He is Managing Director of Zero Carbon Futures. Dick Elsy FIET is CEO of the High Voltage Manufacturing Catapult and received the Honour for his contribution to manufacturing and technology.

Professor Ken Grattan FIET has been awarded an OBE for services to science. Professor Grattan is Dean of the Graduate School at City University in London and is George Daniels Professor of Scientific Instrumentation. Professor Tong Sun FIET has been awarded an OBE for services to engineering. She is Professor of Sensor Engineering at City, University of London and has authored more than 400 journal and conference papers.

Group Captain Emily Flynn FIET is an RAF Engineer Officer and has been awarded an OBE. Group Captain Flynn was shortlisted for the IET’s Young Woman Engineer of the Year award in 2008 and has participated in events to promote careers in STEM. We believe that Group Captain Flynn and her mother, Suzanne Flynn CEng FIET, are the first mother and daughter Fellows of the IET, having previously been the first mother and daughter Chartered Engineers.

Another past IET Young Woman Engineer of the Year finalist, Roma Agrawal MIET, has been awarded a MBE for services to engineering. Roma is a chartered structural engineer and has worked on iconic buildings including the Shard. She is an Associate Director at Aecom. Dr David Sanders FIET has been awarded a MBE for services to charity and the local community. Dhruv Patel MIET has received an OBE for voluntary services to the British Hindu community and social cohesion. Dhruv is Founder of the City Hindus network and is an elected member of the City of London Corporation serving as Chair of the Community and Children’s Services Committee.

A few of our members recently met Her Majesty the Queen to collect their MBEs. Dr Jenny Cooper MIET received her MBE for services to Transmissions Research and Development and Derrick Willer MIET of the Coventry and Warwickshire Local Network has been recognised with a MBE for services to education for his work as an IET Schools Liaison Honour. Derrick went to Buckingham Palace to meet Her Majesty The Queen on 14 June 2018.

Another IET Fellow to have recently been recognised for his outstanding work is Professor David Richardson CEng FIET, Deputy Director of the Optoelectronics Research Centre at the University of Southampton. He was one of fifty eminent scientists to be elected as a Fellow of the Royal Society.

If you have received an award or accolade that you’d like to share with other IET members, please contact membernews@theiet.org.