Welcome Login

IET volunteer wins top RAEng Award

Awarded by the Royal Academy of Engineering, with support from the Worshipful Company of Engineers, the competition recognises outstanding early career engineers with prizes of £3,000 each.

Actively volunteering across various areas at the IET, Dr Donaghy-Spargo is a Professional Registration Advisor, Vice Chair of the Electromagnetics Technical Professional Network and is an Associate Editor of both the IET Power Electronics and Journal of Engineering Research Journals. He previously served a term on the Membership and Professional Development Board, as well as 5 years on the Scholarships Committee. Dr Donaghy-Spargo also won the IET’s Sir Henry Royce Medal for Young Professionals in 2014 and an IET Postgraduate Prize in 2012. He will join the IET’s Council and Volunteer Engagement Board in October 2018.

He is an Assistant Professor of Electrical Engineering and Deputy Research Director for Future Energy Systems at Durham University. He is the author of over 25 peer-reviewed technical articles, with his first journal paper published while he was an undergraduate student.

He was a Chartered Engineer by the age of 28, working with Dyson, where he led industrial research and development projects before returning to academia. He has gained both Chartered Mathematician and Chartered Scientist status, demonstrating his extensive technical achievements and his commitment to the profession and continuing professional development.

Dr Donaghy-Spargo is also an enthusiastic public communicator and is engaged in a variety of activities to promote engineering, including chairing Durham University’s prestigious Sir Gordon Higginson lecture. He is also responsible for STEM outreach activities at Durham University Energy Institute.

To find out more about the Awards, please visit the RAEng website.

Dr Christopher Donaghy-Spargo and his RAEng award.

Dr Christopher Donaghy-Spargo and his RAEng award.