Honours and Awards for IET Fellows, Members and Volunteers

4 January 2018
Share |

Congratulations to those ET Fellows, Members and Volunteers recognised in the 2018 New Year Honours list.

IET Schools Liaison Officer Derrick John Willer CEng MIET received an MBE for services to Education for his outstanding contribution in helping to give children the opportunity to fulfil their potential. Jonathan Slater, Department for Education Permanent Secretary, said: “The hard work and dedication of the award recipients is helping to improve educational standards and to create opportunities for every young person. They are also essential in unlocking the talent in every community across the country. This is something we should all aspire to.”


Jayne Brady, a recent past Chair of IET Northern Ireland Panel also received an MBE for services to economic development. Ms Brady has held leadership roles in multinationals and start-ups, and is a partner at venture capital firm Kernel Capital. Niall Olden, Managing Partner of Kernel Capital, told the Belfast Telegraph: “Jayne has made a tremendous contribution to business, ensuring the positive impact of venture capital within Northern Ireland’s innovation ecosystem."


John Kennedy FIET was awarded a British Empire Medal, together with his wife, Sally, for their services to the community in St Bees and West Cumbria. Mr Kennedy is a valued part of St Bees Priory Church community and has been involved in a number of community ventures including the Wyndham Search Team, which went on to become the Wasdale Rescue Team. He has also been a committee member for St Bees Scouts, a member of the Whitehaven Rotary Club, the Whitehaven Round Table and is an active member of West Cumbria University of the Third Age (U3A), which provides life-enhancing and life-changing opportunities for learning, leisure and social interaction. EurIng Harry Bibring CEng MIET was also awarded a British Empire Medal at the age of 92 for services to Holocaust Education.


The New Year Honours are not the only awards to be bestowed on IET Fellows and Members in recent months. At the end of 2017, Erol Gelenbe FIET, Professor in the Department of Electrical and Electronic Engineering at Imperial College London was awarded the $500,000 Mustafa Award for his work in Information Sciences and Technology. Professor Gelenbe, a previous winner of the IET Oliver Lodge Medal, said: “I am surprised and honoured to get this award. I’ve always had a passion for fundamental research on the mathematical foundations for computer and communication systems, which lead to building better systems and improving their usage and performance, and that is what has driven me over the years, so it is nice to be honoured in this way.”


Professor Gabriel Alfonso Rincón-Mora FIET, Professor at Georgia Institute of Technology and Visiting Professor at National Cheng Kung University in Taiwan will be inducted as a National Academy of Inventors (NAI) Fellow for his contribution to energy and power ICs in 2018. Professor Rincón-Mora is a renowned author and international speaker in his field and was previously named one of “The 100 most Influential Hispanics” by Hispanic Business magazine. Professor Rincón-Mora’s research is focused on the design and development of silicon-based microchips and microsystems that draw and condition power from tiny batteries, fuel cells and generators that harness ambient energy from motion, light, temperature, and radiation to supply and sustain mobile, portable and self-sustaining devices such as wireless micro-sensors.


Lou Bedocs MIET has been recognised with the BSI International Standards Maker award. He received the award for his inspiring leadership in European standardisation for light and lighting applications. Lou was instrumental in the creation of a new standard for quantifying energy use by lighting within buildings.


Congratulations to all recent Honours and Award recipients who have been recognised for their important contributions to engineering, technology and STEM education. If you’ve received an Award that you’d like to share in Member News, please contact Member News.