IET gets ready to celebrate inspirational award winners

26 October 2017
Share |

Photo from 2016 IET Achievement Awards ceremony

The IET Achievement and Innovation Awards are taking place on Wednesday, 15 November 2017 at the Brewery, Chiswell Street, London

Each year, the IET Achievement Awards recognise remarkable and talented individuals who have made an outstanding contribution to engineering or technology.


Awards to be presented during the ceremony include the Faraday Medal, the IET’s most prestigious award, the Mountbatten Medal, the Mensforth Gold Medal, the J J Thomson Medal for Electronics and the IET Achievement Medals. Other accolades include the Sir Henry Royce award, the Paul Fletcher Award and the Mike Sargeant Award.


During the ceremony, the winners of the IET Apprentice, Technician and Armed Forces Technician of the Year Awards, together with the recipient of the IET Volunteer medal will be announced for the first time. The shortlist is available to view on the IET Awards web page. Attendees will also have the chance to see the IET Present Around The World finalists in action as they deliver their award-winning presentations one last time before the winner is revealed. Medal and Award winners will feature in the January print edition of Member News.


This year’s event will be hosted by television presenter, Angela Lamont. To find out more about the IET Achievement Awards ceremony and to register for your place at the event, please visit the IET Achievement Awards web page.


The IET Achievement Awards aren’t the only celebrations taking place at the venue on 15 November. In the evening, the annual IET Innovation Awards ceremony will take place, celebrating some of the best innovations from industry and academia. The awards attract over 300 entries each year.


There are 15 sponsored categories including Energy, Horizontal Innovation, Manufacturing Technology and Sustainability. Descriptions of the impressive engineering and technical innovations to make it onto this year’s shortlist, plus the people and organisations behind them, are now available to see on the IET Innovation Awards website.