IET launches this year’s Innovation Awards 2017

28 March 2017
Share |

The IET has opened its search for the most game-changing engineering, science and technology innovations the world has to offer as part of its prestigious 2017 Innovation Awards programme.

The IET Innovation Awards recognise the most pioneering and progressive innovations across 15 industry categories, from energy and sustainability to transport and healthcare.


The awards are free to enter and are open to any individual, company or organisation anywhere in the world with an innovative idea or product.


They provide a unique platform for both budding and established engineering inventors to gain increased and invaluable exposure for their work on a global stage. All shortlisted and winning entries are promoted to the IET’s 168,000 members across the globe.


2016 double-award winner Paul Cain, Strategy Director at FlexEnable says success in the IET Innovation Awards provided a platform for their company’s growth: “The IET Innovation Awards are among the most prestigious awards celebrating innovation and engineering excellence. To be crowned the winner in not one, but two categories has been a tremendous recognition of FlexEnable’s revolutionary flexible electronics technology, and directly helped in promoting our award-winning technology, globally.”


IET President Jeremy Watson said: “Our Innovation Awards put the achievements of the incredible inventors who work in engineering and technology around the world into the spotlight and play a critical role in helping them further their endeavors.”


The full list of categories for 2017 is as follows:

  • Communications
  • Cyber Security
  • Emerging Technology Design
  • Energy
  • Healthcare Technologies
  • Horizontal Innovation
  • Information Technology
  • Intelligent Systems
  • Manufacturing Technology
  • Model-Based Engineering
  • Navigation and Surveillance Communications
  • Power
  • Start-up
  • Sustainability
  • Transport


Each category is independently judged by a panel of experts in that field, with the shortlist announced in late September. The winners will be revealed at a black tie dinner and ceremony on Wednesday 15th November 2017 at the Brewery in London.


To find out more about the Innovation Awards, additional sponsorship opportunities or to submit an entry, please visit the Innovation Awards website.


The deadline for entries is Friday 7th July 2017.