IET India announces the winners of its 2014 Scholarship Award

28 August 2014
IET Communications team
Share |
Winners on stage at the 2014 IET India Scholarship Award ceremony

IET India's 2014 Scholarship Award winners with T V Mohandas Pai and Dr Sumit Chowdhury.

Culmination of competition for undergraduate engineering students.

IET India has announced the winners of its second Scholarship Award for undergraduate engineering students at a ceremony in Bangalore.

Hina Agrawal (Motilal Nehru Institute of Technology, Allahabad) and Manoj Sarda (Indian Institute of Technology, Roorkee) were named winners of the two main awards. Mansha Imtiyaz (Amity University, Noida) and Manu Kothari (PES University, Bangalore) were named runners up.

This second year of the IET India Scholarship Award drew participation from close to 4,000 students across India. The competition was organised in four levels, from eligibility to theoretical and practical engineering case resolutions. The focus for the applicants was to demonstrate economically, socially and technologically viable ideas to resolve challenges around society. Ten national finalists, who were chosen for the last round, were tested for technical knowhow, problem solving capabilities, as well as leadership skills.

Speaking at the ceremony, Shekhar Sanyal from IET India said: “India, with its abundant quality engineering talent, has become a hub of innovation over the last few years. Engineers play a critical part in our lives and we from the IET are committed towards creating platforms to encourage them to showcase their innovative ideas and solutions.

“I congratulate the winners for this achievement and wish them an ambitious career ahead contributing to the growth of our country.”

For more information on the IET's activities in India, please visit the IET India website.