Achievement and Innovation Awards 2013

24 November 2013
IET Communications team
Share |
IET Innovation Award winners 2013

The 2013 IET Innovation Award winners celebrate in London.

Engineering excellence celebrated at IET award ceremonies.

Exceptional engineers, technicians, apprentices and students from around the world were recognised at two prestigious IET award ceremonies on 20 November.


Achievement Awards

The IET Achievement Awards, which took place in the afternoon and were hosted by biochemist, wild animal biologist and presenter Liz Bonnin, celebrated outstanding talent from various sectors, including nanoelectronics, manufacturing and communications.

The various Achievement Medals awarded included recognition for the vital contribution of IET volunteers through the Paul Fletcher Award.  

This was also the first year for the IET’s Apprentice of the Year award, an accolade that emphasises the important of apprentices in modern engineering.

The final of the annual Present around the World competition, which encourages young engineers to practise their presentation skills, was a highlight of the ceremony, with compelling presentations on subjects including titanium nanowire scaffolds, seismic interferometry, and the mechanical properties of breast tissue. Finalists from around the world presented their projects to compete for the overall £1,000 prize. The audience was then asked to vote for the winner to support the judging panel’s decision. This year’s winner was Christopher Bellamy from the UK who gave a fantastic presentation on 'The Design, Manufacture and Testing of Carabiners'.

Also commended at the Achievement Awards ceremony were this year's recipients of the IET's undergraduate and postgraduate scholarships.

IET president Barry Brooks said: “The awards were a huge success, and the winners should be very proud to have won one of our prestigious accolades. There is an urgent need to encourage more young people into engineering and I hope that these awards will highlight just how diverse our industry is, and also encourage more young people to study STEM subjects and start an engineering career.”

Rob Edmunds, joint winner of the Paul Fletcher Award, said: "I attended both the Achievement and Innovation Awards and really enjoyed both. Having the Present around the World competition at the Achievement Awards made for a really exciting atmosphere, and it was great to see so many individuals recognised for their hard work."


Innovation Awards

In the evening, a glittering black-tie dinner was the backdrop for the IET Innovation Awards. The awards were presented by Tim Campbell MBE, star of TV show The Apprentice and founder of the Bright Ideas Trust. Tim gave a motivating speech on the importance of inspiring young engineers.

Those picking up awards included Solution Cascade Technologies Ltd for their online leak detection systems for aerosol production, Surrey Satellite Technology Ltd and EADS Astrium UK Ltd for their NovaSAR space-based radar imaging system, and ABB for their ‘Energy Recuperation System for Recovery of Train Braking Energy’ innovation.

Barry Brooks said: “This year’s competition has been the most international to date - we received almost 400 entries this year from 30 different countries. It’s pleasing to see just how companies recognise the value of the IET’s international reach. The winners were picked from a very impressive set of global innovations, and were recognised as the most forward thinking, pioneering advances in their fields.

“I’d especially like to congratulate the Team Consulting, OrganOx and Energy Recovery teams who all picked up two or more awards for their innovations.

“These awards are part of the IET’s annual campaign to inspire and celebrate engineering excellence. Our awards seek to highlight the industry’s elite, from apprentices and technicians at the start of their careers through to senior established professionals.”


Full list of 2013 recipients and winners

Congratulations to the winners of the IET's Achievement and Innovation Awards 2013:


Achievement Medals

The Faraday Medal - Professor Sir Michael Pepper FREng FRS
The  Mountbatten Medal - Dr Ian Nussey OBE HonFIET 
Sir Eric Mensforth International Manufacturing Gold Medal - Mr Nigel Whitehead FREng FRAeS 
Ambrose Fleming Medal for Information and Communications - Professor Barry Evans FREng FIET
Coales Medal for Transport - Mr Richard Sadler HonDCL FIMarE FRINA
Crompton Medal for Energy - Professor Graham Trevor Reed PhD FIET
J J Thomson Medal for Electronics - Dr David F Welch
Heaviside Medal for Achievement in Control - Mr Christopher Hadfield
Sir Monty Finniston Award for Achievement - Professor Christopher James FIET
Viscount Nuffield Silver Medal for Design & Production - Eur Ing Professor Dr Richard Wilding OBE FIET
Mike Sargeant Career Achievement Award for Young Professionals - Dr Pantelis Georgiou MIET
Sir Henry Royce Medal for Young Professionals - Dr Yvonne Hübner MIET
Paul Fletcher Award - Mr Robert Edmunds MIET, and Ms Alyssa Randall MIET


Apprentice and Technician of the Year Awards

Apprentice Award - Lydia Feasey
Technician Award - Andrew Knowles EngTech TMIET
Armed Forces Technician Award - Staff Sergeant (SSgt) David Emmerson


Present around the World finalists

United Kingdom region - Christopher Bellamy (winner)
Asia Pacific region - Kelsey Kennedy (runner up)
Americas region - Macauley Kenney
Europe, Middle East and Africa region - Hassan Al-Ismail
South Asia region - Kennevor Dariel Gileado Kharsyntiew


Postgraduate Scholarships

Postgraduate Scholarship for an outstanding researcher - Alison Gibbings
Hudswell International Research Scholarship - Wassif Shabbir
Leslie H Paddle Scholarship - Samantha Simons
Postgraduate Scholarship - Neil Vaughan 
Postgraduate Scholarship - Dr Min Zhang 


Undergraduate Scholarships

Belling Engineering Scholarship - Alistair Senior
BP/IET Faraday Scholarship - Adam Gristock
HND Scholarship - Robin Naismith
HND Scholarship - Nick Pascoe


Undergraduate Grants

Daniel Angelov 
Roxana Danila 
Daniel Eatough 
Henrick Hagemann 
Chris Hambley 
James Hood 
Kerrie Noble 
Rhys Roberts 
Jennifer Rowsell 
Emma Sparkes 


Innovation Awards

Asset Management - Omnicom Engineering Ltd
Built Environment - Cooltech Applications
Communications - Qualcomm
Consumer Electronics Technology - Wolfson Microelectronics plc
Emerging Technology Design - Team Consulting Ltd and OrganOx Ltd
Healthcare Technologies - Team Consulting Ltd and OrganOx Ltd
Information Technology - Bournemouth University and Poole Hospital NHS Foundation Trust
Intelligent Systems - Team Consulting Ltd and OrganOx Ltd
Measurement in Action - Cascade Technologies Ltd
Model Based Engineering - CNH Belgium nv
Navigation & Surveillance Communications - Surrey Satellite Technology Ltd and EADS Astrium UK Ltd
Power/Energy - Energy Recovery
Start-up - DCBPower Inc
Sustainability - Energy Recovery
Vehicle Technologies - ABB