Celebrating the best of British female IT talent

26 March 2013
Share |
FDM everywoman in Technology Awards

IET-sponsored Innovator of the Year award winner Joanna Montgomery, centre, with Dr Kate Sugden, Aston University, left, and Karen Gill MBE, co-founder of everywoman, right.

Credit: Photo courtesy of Everywoman Ltd.

The FDM everywoman in Technology Awards: recognising and encouraging female talent in the technology sector.

The IET-sponsored Innovator of the Year category winner has been announced at the FDM everywoman in Technology Awards at a ceremony in London, compered by TV presenter Angela Lamont and attended by hundreds of leading figures from the technology industry and wider business community.

According to e-skills, the UK Skills Council for Business and Information Technology, women make up just 19 per cent of ITC managers and only 14 cent of IT strategy and planning professionals. To this backdrop, the everywoman Awards were launched in 2011 to showcase talented women in technology roles, highlighting them as role models to others, and encouraging more women into this innovative and fast-moving career choice.

The IET-sponsored Innovator of the Year Award was given to Joanna Montgomery, founder and CEO of Little Riot. Joanna launched Little Riot, an interaction design company in 2010, with flagship product ‘Pillow Talk’ originally created as her university degree project. This innovative technology allows couples who are apart to listen to each other’s heartbeat. As well driving PR, Joanna leads on product development and oversees the entire company operations. The panel was impressed by how much Joanna has achieved on her own, from raising funding, to creating a phenomenal brand.

IET director of Membership and Professional Development Michelle Richmond, commented: “Here at the IET we aim to award the achievements of women in engineering and highlight to the next generation that engineering is a worthwhile and exciting career. We are very proud to be associated with the FDM everywoman in Technology Awards and are delighted to be supporting the Innovator of the Year Award.”

Other FDM everywoman winners are named as follows:

Woman of the Year, sponsored by FDM Group
Eleni Antoniadou, co-founder and chief of science, Transplants without Donors from London

Entrepreneur of the Year, sponsored by Alcatel-Lucent
Jennifer Sheridan, founder and CEO, Togeva Ltd from London

Innovator of the Year, sponsored by the IET
Joanna Montgomery, founder and CEO, Little Riot from Newcastle

Inspiration of the Year, sponsored by VMware
Deborah Gundle, founder/director, Netbuddy from London

Leader of the Year in a corporate organisation with over 500 employees, sponsored by BP
Lucy Dimes, CEO, UK & Ireland, Alcatel-Lucent from London.