IET now licensed to award Chartered IT Professional status

29 January 2013
IET Communications team
Share |
Nigel Fine and David Clarke sign the CITP licence

BCS and IET chief executives David Clarke (left) and Nigel Fine.

Members able to apply for CITP qualification from mid-2013.

BCS, The Chartered Institute for IT, has licensed the IET to award Chartered IT Professional (CITP) status to members who meet the established criteria for the qualification.

Commencing mid-2013, IET members will be able join those from BCS and other bodies on the Register of Chartered IT Professionals, allowing them to achieve this professional registration as an added member benefit.


Promoting IT professionalism

This closer working relationship between the IET and the BCS is seen as a significant move to promoting professionalism across IT.

IET chief executive Nigel Fine said: “We are very pleased to be partnering with the BCS to offer senior specialists the benchmark award of IT excellence. This is a fantastic opportunity for many of our members and demonstrates that the IET remains committed to professionals in this vital sector. It is great news that IET members will be able to apply for CITP from the summer of 2013.”

Over the last few years the IET has been successfully expanding its presence within the Information and Communications sector. Offering this award will now provide greater support for members in IT.


Gaining CITP status: how it works

Candidates will be expected to take a formal test assessing their knowledge of the broad IT sector, followed by an interview and candidate presentation that must demonstrate competency in their IT specialism. Applicants will need to provide evidence they have worked for at least three out of the last five years in IT roles using skills equivalent to SFIA Level 5. Successful applicants will receive a CITP Certificate of Current Competence.

With IT professionals at the heart of business, there is a growing demand for independent certification of their knowledge and experience. CITP status, and the Certificates of Current Competence awarded to those gaining the status, has been developed to demonstrate that these qualification holders have a breadth of knowledge across the whole of IT, with competence in their specialism and an enhanced understanding of the business in which they operate.

Certificates of Current Competence have to be revalidated every five years and holding a valid certificate provides objective evidence that holders are up to date with best practice in their profession.