Start of main content

The Faraday Medallists

The IET Faraday Medal

The IET Faraday Medal

The medal is awarded by the IET not more frequently than once a year (either for notable scientific or industrial achievement in engineering or for conspicuous service rendered to the advancement of science, engineering and technology) without restriction as regards nationality, country of residence or membership of the Institution. Names and post-nominal letters appear below as recorded in the Roll of Honorary Fellows and Faraday Medallists, held in the IET Archives.

Previous recipients

2023 Professor Arogyaswami Joseph Paulraj
2022 Professor Chad A Mirkin PhD
2021 John E E Fleming
2020 Professor Bashir Mohammad Ali Al-Hashimi CBE FREng
2019 Professor Sir Peter Knight FRS
2018 no award
2017 Dr Bjarne Stroustrup
2016 Dr Andrew Harter FREng
2015 Professor Kees Schouhamer Immink FIEEE FAES FSMPTE
2014 Regius Professor Christofer Toumazou FRS FREng FMedSci
2013 Professor Sir Michael Pepper
2012 Dr Leonardo Chiariglione
2011 Professor Donald E Knuth
2010 Professor Donal Bradley CBE FRS
2009 Sir Martin Sweeting OBE FREng FRS
2008 Professor J Kittler FREng
2007 Professor S B Furber FRS FREng
2006 Professor J V McCanny CBE FREng FRS FIAE
2005 Mr Azim H Premji
2004 Professor P M Grant FREng FRSE BSc PhD
2003 Professor Richard H Friend FRS FREng
2002 Sir Robin K Saxby BEng
2001 Professor C J Harris FREng
2000 Professor Michael Brady FREng MSc PhD FRS FIEE
1999 Professor P A McKeown OBE DSc FEng FIEE
1998 Professor R M Needham FRS FEng
1997 Professor J E Midwinter OBE BSc PhD FRS FEng
1996 S C Miller CBE BSc FEng
1995 Professor J D Rhodes OBE PhD DEng FRS FEng
1994 Dr J Parnaby CBE BSc PhD DEng DSc FEng
1993 Professor A G J MacFarlane CBE FRS FEng FRSE
1992 L Solymar MA PhD
1991 Dr A W Rudge OBE FEng
1990 Professor P J Lawrenson DSc FRS FEng
1989 Professor Charles K Kao BSc(Eng) PhD
1988 C Hilsum BSc PhD FEng FIEE FRS
1987 Professor D E N Davies CBE DSc FEng FRS
1986 Professor E D R Shearman BSc(Eng) FEng
1985 Professor C A R Hoare MA HonDSc FRS
1984 Professor A L Cullen OBE DSc(Eng) FEng FRS
1983 Professor W A Gambling DSc PhD FEng
1982 Professor B D Josephson MA PhD FRS
1981 Professor M V Wilkes MA PhD FRS
1980 Professor E A Ash PhD DSc FRS
1979 Robert N Noyce
1978 E Friedlander DrIng
1977 J B Adams CMG MA HonDSc FRS
1976 T O Paine AB MS PhD
1975 Professor John M Meek CBE DEng DSc
1974 G Millington MA BSc
1973 Professor Sir Nevill Mott MA FRS
1972 Professor F C Williams CBE DSc DPhil CEng FRS
1971 Professor Sir Martin Ryle MA CEng FRS
1970 Professor C W Oatley OBE MA MSc CEng FRS
1969 Dr Phillip Sporn EE
1968 Leslie Herbert Bedford CBE MA BSc(Eng)
1967 Professor Harold Everard M Barlow PhD BSc(Eng) FRS
1966 J A Ratcliffe CB CBE MA FRS
1965 Vladimir K Zworykin EE PhD DSc
1964 Joseph Ronald Mortlock BSc(Eng) PhD
1963 Monsieur Pierre M J Ailleret Commander de la Legion d’Honneur
1962 Sir Basil Ferdinand Jamieson Schonland CBE MA PhD FRS
1961 Dr Julius A Stratton ScD DEng
1960 Sir George Paget Thomson DSc FRS
1959 Signor Luigi Emmannueli
1958 Sir Gordon Radley KCB CBE PhD(Eng)
1957 Dr Waldemar Borgquist
1956 Emeritus Professor George William O Howe DSc LLD
1955 Sir John Cockcroft KCB CBE MA MScTech PhD FRS
1954 Isaac Shoenberg
1953 Colonel Sir A Stanley Angwin KBE DSO MC TD BSc(Eng)
1952 Professor Ernest Orlando Lawrence AM PhD
1951 Thomas Lydwell Eckersley BA BSc PhD FRS
1950 Sir James Chadwick MSc PhD FRS
1949 Charles Samuel Franklin CBE
1948 Professor Marcus Lawrence Elwin Oliphant FRS
1947 Sir Leonard Pearce CBE DSc
1946 Sir Edward Victor Appleton GBE KCB MA DSc LLD FRS
1945 Sir Clifford Copland Paterson OBE DSc FRS
1944 Irving Langmuir LLD DSc PhD
1943 Sir Archibald Page
1942 Dr Peter Kapitza FRS
1941 Sir Arthur Percy M Fleming CBE DEng
1940 Alexander Russell MA DSc LLD FRS
1939 W D Coolidge BS PhD
1938 Sir John F C Snell GBE
1937 Professor Andre Blondel
1936 Sir William Henry Bragg OM KBE MA DSc FRS
1935 Frank Baldwin Jewett PhD
1934 Sir Frank E Smith GCB GBE DSc FRS
1933 no award
1932 Sir Oliver Lodge DSc FRS
1931 Charles H Merz DSc
1930 The Rt Hon Lord Rutherford of Nelson
1929 Guido Semenza
1928 Professor John Ambrose Fleming MA DSc FRS
1927 Elihu Thomson DSc
1926 Colonel Rookes Evelyn B Crompton CB FRS
1925 Sir Joseph John Thomson OM MA FRS
1924 Sebastian Ziani de Ferranti DSc FRS
1923 The Hon Sir Charles Algernon Parsons OM KCB FRS
1922 Oliver Heaviside FRS