Engineering Policy Group Scotland

Working with the Strategic Engagement and Partnerships (SEP) department of the IET, this volunteer-led group provides strategic advice to Government, responds to consultations, delivers thought leadership and develops position statements and other materials within their fields of expertise.

If you would like to find out more on the roles and responsibilities of the group, become a member or have any questions, please get in touch with us today at


  • Robin MacLaren, Consultant

Deputy Chair

  • David Ritchie, Leonardo


  • Martin Belshaw
  • Colin Birchenall, Local Government Digital Partnership
  • Derek Elder, Consultant
  • Gareth Harrison, University of Edinburgh
  • Catherine Jones, University of Strathclyde
  • Dr Carol Marsh, Leonardo
  • Alison McLure, Institute of Physics
  • Derek McNab CEng CSci CEnv FIChemE MIEMA, Mabbett
  • Craig Michie, University of Strathclyde
  • Panos Papadopoulos, University of Strathclyde
  • Stephen Taylor, Technology Scotland
  • David Wilson, DBW Engineering Consultancy