IET
Decrease font size
Increase font size
Topic Title: 6mm Earth & Bonding
Topic Summary: Conflicting advice is being given on the required cable size for earth and bonding on my domestic installation.
Created On: 10 October 2018 07:21 PM
Linear : Threading : Single : Branch
1 2 3 Next Last unread
Search Topic Search Topic
Topic Tools Topic Tools
View similar topics View similar topics
View topic in raw text format. Print this topic.
 10 October 2018 07:21 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

DPOC

Hello all, I hope that you can give me some advice on the regulations regarding upgrading my consumer unit to the latest standard. Sorry but with the background it becomes a long question.

I am not an electrician and therefore do not have direct access to BS 7671. I am being given conflicting advice by two electricians that I have consulted. I would therefore like to get a definitive answer.

My house is a 1970's build and has a Wylex CU with wired fuses. It has a 60Amp main fuse and 16mm CU tails. The earth and bonding are in 6mm cables from the mains supply. This system has worked perfectly satisfactorily to date.

I am now thinking of upgrading the CU to the latest standard to benefit from the added protection provided by RCB's / RCBO's. One electrician says that I must increase cable sizes to 25mm tails and 10mm earthing/bonding. The other says this is not necessary on an upgrade.

I do not want to mess up the house internally or externally so I am hoping that the second electrician is correct. I will do nothing if I have to change the tails and earth/bonding cables to fit a new CU.

Can someone quote the specific BS regulations that force a change of cable sizes or alternatively the regulation that allows use of the existing cables for an upgrade.
 10 October 2018 08:23 PM

geoffsd

Originally posted by: DPOC
This system has worked perfectly satisfactorily to date.

Maybe nothing has gone wrong - yet.