Council is the top-level consultative and advisory body of the IET, representing the views of the membership at large and offering advice to the Board of Trustees.

Council has the right and responsibility of:

  • tendering advice to the Board of Trustees concerning the conduct of the IET’s affairs generally, 
    including its direction and strategy, and on any other matters referred to it by the Board of Trustees;
  • communicating views that are representative of the range of views of members of the IET on these
    and other matters to the Board of Trustees;
  • monitoring the governance of the IET and promoting a culture of continuous improvement.

Council will:

  • review and contribute to the IET’s Strategic and Corporate Plans;
  • review and note the IET’s Annual Report and Accounts;
  • provide an annual report to the AGM.

Constitution of Council


  • Mr R E H Spalding BSc RN CEng FIET

Deputy Chairman:

  • Mr M J Lancaster JP BSc CEng MIET

Ordinary Members:

  •  * Professor J E Allen MA PhD DEng DSc CEng FIET
  • * Mr M A R Beeharry BSc MIET
  • * Mr H V Bell BSc CEng FIET
  • + Ms A S K Chan BE MEMgt MIET
  • * Mr H R Egbert BASc(EE) CEng MIET
  • + Eur Ing D-F J Fam BEng MEng PEng CEng MIET
  • † Dr M Fiorini PhD CEng FIET
  • + Mr R K T Fong BE MSc CEng FIET
  • † Mr G Hayes
  • + Eur Ing Dr A G Hessami PhD CEng FIET
  • † Mr R Jananthan BScEng MBA CEng CITP MIET JP
  • † Dr F Johnson BSc MASc PhD CEng FIET
  • * Mr J M Jones DipEE CEng MIET
  • + Mr K Kalyan Sagar BTech ME MIET
  • + Mr M J Lancaster JP BSc CEng MIET
  • * Mr F Lewis BSc FIET
  • † Mr Y K Lim CEng MIET
  • * Ms W S J Lo BEng MPhil MIET
  • † Ms A Longo MEng MSc MIET
  • * Dr S E Maloney BSc PhD MIET
  • * Dr M Marsaline Beno BE MTech PhD MIET
  • † Mr E H Morton BSc CEng MIET
  • * Mr M G Poole DipEE MBA CEng MIET
  • † Mr S E Robinson CEng FIET
  • + Mr C R Russell BEng MSc FIET
  • * Eur Ing S E Savvides DipEE MBA MCGI CEng FIET
  • * Mr J Senadheera BSc MIET
  • + Mr P Smith BSc MPhil CEng FIET
  • + Mr R E H Spalding BSc RN CEng FIET
  • * Dr S Suresh Kumar BE MS MTech PhD MIET
  • * Professor D T Swift-Hook MA MSc PhD CEng FIET
  • * Professor J K Sykulski MSc PhD CEng FIET
  • † Lt Col M J Ware BEng CEng MIET
  • † Mrs G F Whapshott MSc CEng MIET

Board of Trustees:

  • + Ms F Azirar BEng DipM MIET
  • † Dr P W Bonfield OBE FREng BSc MSc PhD CEng FIET
  • * Ms N W Climer BSc CEng FIET
  • † Professor R A Cryan CBE DL FREng MBA DSc CEng FIET
  • * Miss A K Delahunty BE MMgtSc CEng MIET
  • + Mr D W A East CBE FREng MA MBA CEng FIET
  • * Dr W D Evans MA DPhil FIET
  • + Dr A C Harter FREng MA PhD CEng FIET
  • † Eur Ing T T Hlaing MEng CEng MIET
  • † Eur Ing G N Hobbs FREng BSc MSc CEng FIET
  • + Professor W J Stewart FREng BSc MSc CEng FIET
  • * Mr N Ward BSc(Eng) DMS CEng MIET
  • + Professor J D M Watson CBE FREng FRSA MSc DPhil CEng FIET
  • † Mr N P Winser CBE FREng BSc CEng FIET
  • * Eur Ing Dr C K J Wong MSc MPhil DProf CEng FIET

Past Presidents:

  • + Professor W T Webb FREng BEng MBA PhD CEng FIET
  • * Mr B P S Brooks BSc(Eng) FCGI CEng FIET

Knowledge Services Board Appointees:

  • Dr C M Arthur BEng PhD MIET
  • Mr G Bertrand BSc MBA CEng MIET
  • Professor D I Crawford BA MSc PhD CEng FIET
  • vacancy

Membership and Professional Development Board Appointees:

  • Dr K Sugden BSc MSc PhD MIET
  • Mr D S Whittle BSc CEng FIET
  • vacancy
  • vacancy

* will retire from that office on 30 September 2016

+ will retire from that office on 30 September 2017

† will retire from that office on 30 September 2018

Back to top