Council is the top-level consultative and advisory body of the IET, representing the views of the membership at large and offering advice to the Board of Trustees.

Council has the right and responsibility of:

  • tendering advice to the Board of Trustees concerning the conduct of the IET’s affairs generally, 
    including its direction and strategy, and on any other matters referred to it by the Board of Trustees;
  • communicating views that are representative of the range of views of members of the IET on these
    and other matters to the Board of Trustees;
  • monitoring the governance of the IET and promoting a culture of continuous improvement.

Council will:

  • review and contribute to the IET’s Strategic and Corporate Plans;
  • review and note the IET’s Annual Report and Accounts;
  • provide an annual report to the AGM.

Constitution of Council


  • * Professor A J McGrail BSc MSc MBA PhD

Deputy Chairman:

  • * Mr E H Morton BSc

Ordinary Members:

  • * Ms M Ajibode BEng MSc(Eng)
  • + Dr C M Arthur BEng PhD
  • † Mr E N Baines BSc MA
  • * Eur Ing G Bertrand BSc MBA
  • * Eur Ing B J Clark OBE DipEE
  • * Mr M J Coates BSc MBA
  • * Mr G R Crook BEng MBA
  • * Dr J A Flint MEng PhD
  • + Dr W B Green BScEng MScEng PhD
  • + Mr T J Heywood BSc
  • * Eur Ing Professor A M Hodge MBE BSc PhD
  • + Dr P D Hopewell BEng PhD
  • + Mr R Jananthan BSc(Eng) MBA
  • † Mr S Jobbins MSc
  • † Mr B Joshi BSc MBA
  • * Mr T Kerby MEng
  • * Mr N Kouyialis MSc
  • + Mr C F Kwong BEng MSc
  • * Mr M J Lancaster JP BSc
  • * Sir Kevin Leeson CBE KCB FREng BSc
  • * Mr E W B Lo BEng MPhil
  • † Eur Ing J L Lord BSc
  • * Mr M C G Luo BEng
  • † Miss S E Maber MSc
  • + Ms J W C Man BEng MSc(Eng)
  • * Professor A J McGrail BSc MSc MBA PhD
  • + Mr E H Morton BSc
  • * Mr I M H Murdoch MEng
  • + Mr D J Owen BSc MBA
  • + Mr L Ramesh BE MTech MBA
  • † Ms K K C Sun BEng
  • + Eur Ing A R Till BSc
  • † Mr L-H Tse BEng MEng MSc
  • * Mr K T G Wai BEng MBA
  • + Dr J Walker MA MSc PhD
  • † Mr C H J Wan BEng
  • † Mr D G Wayman BSc
  • + Mr P Wherritt BSc DipEM
  • * Professor A G Williamson BE PhD DEng
  • † Eur Ing C K J Wong MSc MPhil

Co-opted Members:

  • † Professor P Z Fan PhD

Board of Trustees:

  • * Mr B P S Brooks BSc(Eng) FCGI
  • + Ms J K Bryant FREng
  • + Mr S R Burgin BSc DMS
  • * Mr M D Carr FREng BSc(Eng) HonDTech
  • * Ms A S K Chan BE
  • * Ms N W Climer FREng BSc
  • + Dr S C A Harrison BSc PhD
  • † Dr S D Hart MEng PhD
  • † Mrs V M Hodge BSc MSc
  • * Professor A Hopper CBE FRS FREng BSc PhD
  • * Eur Ing Professor B E Jones BSc(Eng) MSc PhD DSc
  • † Professor Sir James McDonald FREng FRSE BSc MSc PhD
  • * Dr H M Sykulska-Lawrence MEng PhD
  • + Professor J D M Watson CBE FREng FRSA MSc DPhil
  • † Mr A J Watts BSc

Past Presidents:

  • * Dr N J Burton BSc(Eng) PhD
  • + Dr M J Short CBE FREng BA

Knowledge Management Board Appointees:

  • Mr B L Bowler MEng
  • Professor R F B MacLaren BSc
  • Professor W J Stewart FREng BSc MSc
  • vacancy

Membership and Professional Development Board Appointees:

  • Dr S C A Harrison BSc PhD
  • Mr T T Hlaing MEng
  • Mr R E H Spalding BSc RN
  • vacancy


* will retire from that office on 30 September 2013

+ will retire from that office on 30 September 2014

† will retire from that office on 30 September 2015


Back to top