Welcome Login


About Council

Council has the right and responsibility of:

  • tendering advice to the Board of Trustees concerning the conduct of the IET’s affairs generally, 
    including its direction and strategy, and on any other matters referred to it by the Board of Trustees;
  • communicating views that are representative of the range of views of members of the IET on these
    and other matters to the Board of Trustees;
  • monitoring the governance of the IET and promoting a culture of continuous improvement.

Council will:

  • review and contribute to the IET’s Strategic and Corporate Plans;
  • review and note the IET’s Annual Report and Accounts;
  • provide an annual report to the AGM.

Constitution of Council 2018-2019


  •  Mr C R Davis BSc CEng FIET

Deputy Chair:

  • Dr P M Ward BSc PhD CEng FIET

Ordinary Members:

  • † Mr A R Ball IEng MIET
  • * Professor I F Bitterlin PhD CEng FIET
  • † Dr R A Cepeda Lopez BEng MSc PhD CEng FIET 
  • * Mr C R Davis BSc CEng FIET
  • * Dr W D Evans MA DPhil FIET
  • † Mr J Garnham ICTTech TMIET2
  • + Miss J C Y Ho BMath MSc LLB MIET1
  • † Mr D Hogan BSc CEng FIET
  • † Ms R Hurst FREng MSc FIET
  • + Miss A Hutty MEng CEng MIET2
  • * Eur Ing Dr P E Mason BEng MSc PhD CEng MIET
  • + Mr A McCabe BEng CEng MIET
  • + Mr I H M Murdoch MEng CEng MIET1
  • † Dr C Muthamizhchelvan PhD FIET1
  • † Dr P M Needham BA PhD CEng FIET
  • * Ms D E Ohlson MEng CEng FIET
  • + Professor I Phillips BSc CEng FIET
  • + Mr M G Prewett BSc IEng FIET
  • + Mr J D Ratcliff BEng MSc CEng MIET
  • * Mr A Spyrou MEng CEng MIET12
  • * Dr K Sugden BSc MSc PhD MIET
  • † Dr C W To BEng MA CEng FIET
  • + Dr P M Ward BSc PhD CEng FIET
  • + Dr D T Williams MEng EngD CEng FIET
  • * Ms K M Wong BEng MIET12
  • * One casual vacancy
  • † One casual vacancy.


  • * Mr M D Carr OBE FREng BSc(Eng) HonDTech CEng FIET


* will retire from that office on 30 September 2019
+ will retire from that office on 30 September 2020
† will retire from that office on 30 September 2021

1 resident outside the UK 
2 under 36 at the date of election