Shop cart


Awards and prizes

Offering prizes and holding competitions can raise the profile of the IET to students and young professionals and help communities build local partnerships.

The IET Awards programme includes awards for individual excellence, research and innovation, scholarships, travel awards, prizes and competitions within the engineering and technology sector.

In 2012, the IET provided over £500,000 in awards, prizes and scholarships, to celebrate excellence and research in the sector and encourage the next generation of engineers and technicians. This increased to over £1 million in 2013 with the launch of new schemes including the Diamond Jubilee scholarships, Apprentice and Technician awards and new scholarships in India and the Americas.

As an IET volunteer, there are a number of prizes and competitions that you may come across - some of these are listed below. For more information about the IET Awards programme you can download the PDF brochure.




A range of undergraduate scholarships worth up to £1,000 and postgraduate scholarships worth up to £10,000.

Diamond Jubilee Scholarships

Launched this year - £1000 per year to every student to who gets x3 ‘A’s or above in their A-Levels (or equivalent) and goes on to an IET accredited degree course this autumn.

Travel Awards

Scholarships available if you want to broaden your professional experience through undertaking a study tour, working in industry or attending a conference abroad.

Achievement Awards

Medals for outstanding individuals and celebrating individual excellence in engineering and technology.

Apprentice Awards

Launched this year, x3 awards consisting of Apprentice of the Year, Technician of the Year and Armed Forces Technician of the Year. Prize worth £1,000 plus professional registration fees.

Present around the World Competition

The IET presentation competition for young professionals aged 18 to 26, on a subject related to engineering and technology. Talk for 10 minutes on a subject related to engineering or technology and win cash prizes at every level, including £1,000 for the International Final.

Power Academy scholarships

Scholarships and work placements available to undergraduate students interested in a career in power engineering.

Young Woman Engineer of the Year Award

This award seeks to reward the very best female engineers that the UK has to offer, highlight the achievements of women in engineering and encourage others to enter the profession.

Innovation Awards

Spanning 15 categories, these free to enter international awards are open to individuals and organisations in both industry and academia.  Judged by engineering experts, the Innovation Awards recognise the depth and breadth of innovative work being carried out across all areas of engineering and technology.

AF Harvey Prize

A £300k prize for a top researcher who then goes on to give a lecture in their field of research.

IET Prize and IET Manufacturing Engineering Student Prize

The IET Prize and IET Manufacturing Engineering Student Prize are awarded annually to outstanding students who are undergoing or have completed a course of study which has been accredited by the IET. Prize winners are nominated by each approved university on the basis of having shown distinction in a specified stage of a course leading to the award of a first degree. One nomination is available per IET accredited university.

The Prize consists of a certificate and two years free membership of the IET effective immediately on award of the Prize.

IET Local Network Prize

Where the universities or colleges do not have IET accredited programmes Local Networks can offer an IET Local Network Prize to reward excellence in students. The prize winner should be nominated on the official form by the academic establishment on the basis of having achieved excellence on a course that falls within the IET’s scope of interest. No restriction regarding age, sex or nationality should be made. 

The value of the award must be £250 or an amount with an equivalent purchasing power in other countries. Only one award should be offered per establishment even where there are a number of different departments specialising in different areas of engineering and technology. The cost of running the event and the value of the prize must be included in the Network plan.