Shop cart


The Faraday Medallists

The Faraday Medal of the IET is a bronze medal established to commemorate the fiftieth anniversary of the first Ordinary Meeting of the Society of Telegraph Engineers.

The medal is awarded by the IET not more frequently than once a year (either for notable scientific or industrial achievement in engineering or for conspicuous service rendered to the advancement of science, engineering and technology) without restriction as regards nationality, country of residence or membership of the Institution.

Previous recipients of the Faraday Medal are:

2014Regius Professor Christofer Toumazou FRS FREng FMedSci
2013Professor Sir Michael Pepper FREng FRS
2012Dr Leonardo Chiariglione
2011Professor Donald E Knuth
2010Professor Donal Bradley CBE FRS
2009Sir Martin Sweeting OBE FREng FRS
2008Professor Josef Kittler FREng
2007Professor Stephen Furber FRS FREng
2006Professor J V McCanny CBE FREng FRS FIAE
2005Mr Azim H Premji
2004Professor P M Grant FREng FRSE BSc PhD
2003Professor R H Friend FRS
2002Sir Robin Saxby BEng
2001Professor C J Harris BSc MA PhD FREng
2000Professor J M Brady FREng MSc PhD FRS
1999Professor P A McKeown OBE FREng DSc
1998Professor R M Needham FRS FEng
1997Professor J E Midwinter OBE BSc FRS FEng
1996Mr S C Miller CBE BSc FEng
1995Professor J D Rhodes OBE PhD DSc DEng FRS FEng
1994Dr J Parnaby CBE BSc DTech FEng
1993Professor A G J MacFarlane CBE FRS FEng
1992Dr L Solymar MA
1991Dr A W Rudge OBE FEng
1990Professor P J Lawrenson MSc DSc FRS FEng
1989Professor C K Kao BSc BSc(Eng) PhD
1988Professor C Hilsum BSc PhD FRS FEng
1987Professor D E N Davies CBE DSc PhD FEng
1986Professor E D R Shearman BSc(Eng) FEng
1985Professor C A R Hoare MA HonDSc
1984Professor A L Cullen OBE DSc(Eng) FRS FEng
1983Professor W A Gambling DSc PhD FEng
1982Professor B D Josephson
1981Professor M V Wilkes
1980Professor E A Ash PhD DSc
1979Dr Robert N Noyce
1978Dr E Friedlander
1977Dr J B Adams CMG MA FRS
1976T O Paine AB MS PhD
1975Professor J M Meek CBE DEng FInstP
1974G Millington MA BSc
1973Professor Sir Nevill Mott MA FRS
1972Professor F C Williams CBE DSc DPhil FRS
1971Professor Sir Martin Ryle MA FRS
1970Professor C W Oatley OBE MA MSc FRS
1969Dr Phillip Sporn EE
1968L H Bedford CBE MA BSc(Eng)
1967Professor H E M Barlow PhD BSc(Eng) FRS
1966J A Ratcliffe CB CBE MA FRS
1965Vladimir K Zworykin EE PhD DSc
1964J R Mortlock BSc(Eng) PhD
1963P M J Ailleret
1962Sir Basil F J Schonland CBE MA PhD FRS
1961Julius A Stratton ScD LLD
1960Sir George P Thomson DSc FRS
1959Luigi Emmannueli
1958Sir Gordon Radley KCB CBE PhD(Eng)
1957Dr Waldemar Borgquist
1956Professor G W O Howe DSc LLD
1955Sir John Cockcroft KCB CBE MA DSc MScTech PhD FRS
1954Sir Isaac Shoenberg
1953Sir A Stanley Angwin KBE DSO MC TD BSc(Eng)
1952Professor E O Lawrence AM PhD
1951T L Eckersley BA BSc PhD FRS
1950Sir James Chadwick MSc PhD FRS
1949C S Franklin CBE
1948Professor M L E Oliphant FRS
1947Sir Leonard Pearce CBE DSc
1946Sir Edward V Appleton GBE KCB MA DSc LLD FRS
1945Sir Clifford C Paterson OBE DSc FRS
1944I Langmuir LLD DSc PhD
1943Sir Archibald Page
1942Dr P Kapitza FRS
1941Sir Arthur P H Fleming CBE DEng LLD
1940A Russell MA DSc LLD FRS
1939W D Coolidge BS PhD
1938Sir John F C Snell GBE
1937Professor Andre Blondel
1936Sir William H Bragg OM KBE MA DSc FRS
1935F B Jewett PhD
1934Sir Frank E Smith GCB GBM DSc FRS
1933no award
1932Sir Oliver Lodge DSc FRS
1931C H Merz DSc
1930The Rt Hon Lord Rutherford of Nelson OM FRS
1929Guido Semenza
1928Professor Sir Ambrose Fleming MA DSc FRS
1927Elihu Thomson DSc
1926Colonel R E B Crompton CB FRS
1925Sir J J Thomson OM MA FRS
1924S Z de Ferranti DSc FRS
1923The Hon Sir Charles A Parsons OM KCB FRS
1922Oliver Heaviside FRS

Other resources of interest    Reverse side of the Faraday Medal showing a profile of Michael Faraday from collection SCMSS 144

Michael Faraday biography                     

IET Awards - Faraday Medal