Press release

IET Announces Last Call for Entries for 2011 Achievement Awards

27 April 2011

The Institution of Engineering & Technology (IET) has today announced the last call for entries for its prestigious annual Achievement Awards, celebrating the exceptional accomplishments of individuals working across the engineering and technology profession. 

Sponsored by GCHQ, RS Components, and TFL the IET Achievement Awards are open to engineers and technologists at all stages in their careers from young professionals through to individuals at the pinnacle of their success.   Recognition from peers is one of the most prized accolades in any professional’s career. With just a month to go till the closing date for entries, the IET encourages people in engineering and technology from both academia and industry to use the simple nomination process to put a spotlight on work they want recognised.   

Awards include the highly acclaimed Faraday Medal, given for outstanding scientific or industrial achievement in engineering, and the Mountbatten Medal, which is awarded in partnership with the Royal Academy of Engineering and the British Computer Society, to recognise a significant contribution in the field of electronics or information technology that benefits the UK. Dating back to 1922, the Faraday Medal is one of the most coveted prizes in the engineering sector with notable past winners including SSTL founder and Surrey Space Centre director Sir Martin Sweeting and UK physicist and Nobel Prize winner, Sir Edward Appleton.

Those in the early stages of their engineering careers are eligible for awards such as the Sir Henry Royce Medal, which recognises a young engineer, IT professional or industrial trainee for outstanding achievement in the previous year.

“Engineers have forever played a vital role in our society and the IET continues to recognise their achievements that impact our everyday lives”, says Linda Deleay, Awards and Prizes Manager at the IET.  “The Achievement Awards celebrate success, raise public awareness of the work that engineers do and thereby encourage young people to enter the engineering and technology profession to continue this legacy, and so we ask people to come forward and nominate the great work of their peers and colleagues to make certain that it does not go unrecognised.”

The closing date for entries is Monday 30th May 2011. The winners are chosen by the IET Awards and Prizes Committee.  All awards will be presented at an exclusive ceremony hosted in central London on 9th November 2011.

The IET provides around £200,000 every year in awards and scholarships to promote excellence in the sector, encourage the next generation of engineers or technologists and endorse women entering the profession.

Media enquiries to:

Jon White / Anne Ligory
Rocket Communications
+44 (0) 8453 707 024

Notes to editors:

The Institution of Engineering and Technology (IET) is a world-leading professional organisation, sharing and advancing knowledge to promote science, engineering and technology across the world.  Part of its remit is promoting, recognising and rewarding excellence through four awards programmes: The Ambition Awards, Achievement Awards, Innovation Awards and Young Woman Engineer Awards.

The IET Ambition Awards programme includes a range of undergraduate and postgraduate scholarships, competitions and travel awards encouraging young people to enter the engineering and technology profession and providing financial support throughout university. The IET Achievement Awards recognise the exceptional achievements of individuals working in the engineering and technology professions.  The IET Innovation Awards celebrate the products, technologies and processes that lead the way in engineering innovation.  The IET Young Woman Engineer Awards recognise and promote women in engineering and technology and encourage more women to join the profession.

For more information, please visit: