Shop cart


Members of the ISA Working Group

List of members and biographies for the IET/BCS/SaRS/IMechE Independent Safety Assurance (ISA) Working Group


Simon N Brown QinetiQ

Vice Chair



Steve Beech SR3C Ltd
John Canning Virkonnen Critical Systems
Paul Caseley DSTL
Alan Clare Adelard LLP
Tim Clement Adelard LLP
Andrew Eaton UK CAA
Trevor Frampton  
Stephen Hatton ERA Technology Ltd
Paul Heywood Altran
Dave Higham Delphi Diesel Systems Ltd
Peter Hutchinson RPS Health Safety and Environment
James Inge Ministry of Defence
Steve Kinnersly  
Barrie Reynolds BSI Tech Committee Chair
Richard Selby BAE Systems
David Smith Frazer-Nash Consultancy Ltd
Karen Tracey Sellafield Ltd
David Ward MIRA Ltd
Nick Ward Pioneer Technology Ltd
Steve White Fulcrum Assessment
Peter Wort STS Defence

Corresponding Members

Paul Atkins STS Defence
Kyoumars Bahrami Siemens Rail Automation Australia
Audrey Canning Virkonnen Critical Systems
Trevor Cockram  
Ed Fergus Health and Safety Executive
Rob Gregory Magnox North Sites
Simon Hughes  
Richard Hulmes SAFED
Brian Jepson BAE Systems
Julian Lockett BMT Reliability Consultants Ltd
Ben Lockwood Raytheon
John McDermid University of York
Stuart Nunns ABB Eutech Process Solutions
Brian Taylor  
Tim Rowe EC Harris

Institution representatives

Penny Ballard BCS
Alan Berry IET
Rhys David IMechE and SaRS


The members of the working group are happy to discuss the work of the ISA and to answer questions. If you would like to contact any of the above, then please contact