Increase font size
Topic Title: Any Friendly Advice
Topic Summary:
Created On: 18 August 2014 04:51 PM
Linear : Threading : Single : Branch
Search Topic Search Topic
Topic Tools Topic Tools
View similar topics View similar topics
View topic in raw text format. Print this topic.
 18 August 2014 04:51 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Tim24

Hello just looking for some advise,

Currently setting my self up as a sole trader, i have been working as an electrician for 8 years and have finally decided to take the leap of faith.

has anyone got any good advice for a new start up company, also any advise when it comes to joining the NICEIC, i have been reading on the their web site but any advise from experience would be much appreciated.

Thanks
 18 August 2014 05:04 PM

prophet

Hiya

Just be prepared for a slog the first 6 months as you pay for everything (self cert, tools, van, insurance etc) BUT it DOES get better! And remember the NIC isn't the be all and end all (although they think they are).

Work out your prices for your area and what you'll need to make a living on (e.g per hour and per day) and don't let customers bully you into lowering them.

Tom
 18 August 2014 05:18 PM

daveparry1

As above plus don't expect to make a profit every week, take a wage (when you can!) and put some away for the quiet times. So many people become self employed, and then have a good week then spend it all, only to find their work's dried-up. Things just don't work out that way.
 18 August 2014 05:26 PM

Tim24

Ok thanks guys, i was looking at the price of joining the niceic, thought it was a bit steep!!!
 18 August 2014 05:56 PM

daveparry1

There is a cheaper one called Stroma, I don't know what they're like but if it's just for self-certification reasons probably ok?
 18 August 2014 07:09 PM

Tim24

ok thanks i will check it out
 18 August 2014 09:34 PM

GJH

I would go NAPIT
 18 August 2014 09:35 PM

Zs