Topic Title: Rcds in series
Topic Summary: Tncs to TT
Created On: 14 August 2014 10:40 AM
Linear : Threading : Single : Branch
1 2 3 4 5 Next Last unread
Search Topic Search Topic
Topic Tools Topic Tools
View similar topics View similar topics
View topic in raw text format. Print this topic.
 14 August 2014 10:40 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

tillie

Hi , I have a very embarrassing question to ask and I am quite ashamed that I do not know or that I have forgotten ( I dont know which is worse ).

This is a hypothetical question.

If I was running a supply down for a garden shed consumer unit and the supply was taken from a 30ma protected way in the house consumer unit and the shed was converted to TT would I need a 30ma rcd in the shed consumer unit ?

Assume that the Shed has no ECPs so no bonding required.

Help please.
 14 August 2014 10:54 AM

hifly

no

-------------------------
Vince

Prove Dead Stay Alive

Christmas Cards for trades people

http://www.tradegreetingcards.com
 14 August 2014 11:26 AM

AJJewsbury

Physically a single RCD will operate perfectly satisfactorily (discrimination etc notwithstanding).

Regs wise, it's a bit cloudy I think. 411.5.1 seems to say that every exposed-conductive-part protected by a single device shall be connected to the same earth electrode. I've yet to make any sense of that requirement in the context of modern RCDs (it would make sense for old voltage-operated ELCBs of course). There is an argument that 411.5.1 only applies to the TT portion of the installation, not the TN part, so it's debatable whether the TN part being connected to a different earth is a contravention or not (or if you go down that path whether not having a protective device within the TT part is a contravention of 411.5.2). Certainly if the house was already TT, the reg would seem to say you couldn't have a separate rod for the shed and share an RCD - which makes doing so for a TN house look a bit dubious.