IET logo
 
IET
Decrease font size
Increase font size
Topic Title: megger 1502 faulty where to get repaired!!
Topic Summary:
Created On: 13 June 2013 06:25 PM
Status: Post and Reply
Linear : Threading : Single : Branch
Search Topic Search Topic
Topic Tools Topic Tools
View similar topics View similar topics
View topic in raw text format. Print this topic.
 13 June 2013 06:25 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message



thesaint

Posts: 43
Joined: 02 June 2008

hi my 1502 is giving high zs readings i have tested against a 1552 on a couple of sites,i have spoke to a calibration company that done mine 8 months ago and said it does sound faulty so i am thinking to just send it direct to a repair company but who any help cheers!!!
 13 June 2013 06:57 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message



daveparry1

Posts: 6239
Joined: 04 July 2007

Are you sure it's not faulty leads?
 13 June 2013 07:49 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message



jamieblatant

Posts: 513
Joined: 11 January 2006

I would send it to the bin mergers are crap nowdays

-------------------------
Keep up with the antics of the UK,s most humoured electrical company
Facebook: https://www.facebook.com/RtIndustriaLtd
Twitter: @rtindustria
 13 June 2013 08:03 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message



daveparry1

Posts: 6239
Joined: 04 July 2007

Yeah, bin it and buy yourself a Fluke! Maybe you can find one of those deals where they give a good PX deal if they're selling you a new one,

Dave.
 13 June 2013 08:28 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message



thesaint

Posts: 43
Joined: 02 June 2008

ive just bought new megger leads for it at £40 i like the megger iwould like to have it repaired if possible ..
 13 June 2013 09:50 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message


Avatar for leckie.
leckie

Posts: 1872
Joined: 21 November 2008

Well I have a couple of meggers multitest meters.

I a keep a set of leads for each PLUS a spare set of new leads. I check box each meter. Then I check box the meters with the "new test leads". So in effect I check the meter and the leads. Usually it's the leads, or one lead, or part of the leads, that's causing the problems.

Oh, and none are Megger leads!
 13 June 2013 10:21 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message



thesaint

Posts: 43
Joined: 02 June 2008

i checked it with both my sets and the with the 1552 leads still the same the reading is .24 higher ..
 13 June 2013 11:51 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message



jamieblatant

Posts: 513
Joined: 11 January 2006

Fulke are crap as well rebadged cack but the t1000 is still the best proving unit

Robin were the best they trade under another name now tht I can't recall

-------------------------
Keep up with the antics of the UK,s most humoured electrical company
Facebook: https://www.facebook.com/RtIndustriaLtd
Twitter: @rtindustria
 14 June 2013 06:26 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message



thesaint

Posts: 43
Joined: 02 June 2008

I will ring megger today and see what they say.
 14 June 2013 08:10 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message


Avatar for kj scott.
kj scott

Posts: 2144
Joined: 02 April 2006

Originally posted by: thesaint

i checked it with both my sets and the with the 1552 leads still the same the reading is .24 higher ..


0.24 higher than what?
This could be a perfectly acceptable difference between test instruments, particularly for the loop impedance range.

-------------------------
http://www.niceic.biz
 14 June 2013 08:44 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message


Avatar for leckie.
leckie

Posts: 1872
Joined: 21 November 2008

Well as per my earlier post, I am pretty careful with trying to make sure my meters are reasonably accurate and also my leads. But calculated values for Zs by using Ze + (R1+R2) and then comparing to Zs measured results are not usually very uniform, especially when on no-trip setting.

I know when I have had assessments one of the things that comes up is not being able to repeat the same readings. Sometimes I record a calculated value of Zs and sometimes a measured value. So if I cannot get a repeatable reading I assume it could be that I could be doing an ELI test whereas on the cert I record Ze + (R1+R2) or/and a fluctuation in the meter accuracy, installation or ambient conditions. That gives me a leeway of about 15%!!
 14 June 2013 11:12 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message



thesaint

Posts: 43
Joined: 02 June 2008

The. 24 was on a radial circuit against a1552 so I done some checks on a ring and again higher than the 1552 , tonight I will cross check against a cm500 to see what I get as my r1-r2 readings are ok . Will know by tomorrow and if so there is a company an hour away that can look at it for me ..
 19 June 2013 10:02 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message



thesaint

Posts: 43
Joined: 02 June 2008

well took the 1502 to a repair company who was very helpful let me see the whole calibration process and how to get into test sequence but still no answer, i can use the high loop but the non trip is roughly .2 of an ohm out.
i will no more after monday when he speaks to megger see if they can suggest anything hope it can be sorted as everything works fine except the non trip which is too far out to pass the calibration ....
 19 June 2013 10:06 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message


Avatar for leckie.
leckie

Posts: 1872
Joined: 21 November 2008

Take .2 off the reading and record it!
 20 June 2013 09:26 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message



thesaint

Posts: 43
Joined: 02 June 2008

That is what I will do for the moment.
Statistics

See Also:



FuseTalk Standard Edition v3.2 - © 1999-2014 FuseTalk Inc. All rights reserved.