IET logo
 
IET
Decrease font size
Increase font size
Topic Title: Fluke 1652
Topic Summary: PSC LN loop always >10kA
Created On: 31 March 2013 12:25 AM
Status: Post and Reply
Linear : Threading : Single : Branch
Search Topic Search Topic
Topic Tools Topic Tools
View similar topics View similar topics
View topic in raw text format. Print this topic.
 31 March 2013 12:25 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message



PatHammond

Posts: 215
Joined: 04 December 2008

My 'beloved' Fluke 1652 as developed yet another expensive looking fault. Ze and PEFC working ok but as soon as I toggle to do a L-N loop test ie PSC I get greater than 10kA. I've tried it on different installations, at different points in the installation always greater than 10kA and have tried setting the max reading to measure up to 50kA and it then tells me the PFC>50kA. Anyone had similar problems. I've found Fluke very cagey to deal with in the past. Last time they charged me £250 to repair a different fault and when I asked them for an explanation of what was wrong they told me it was their policy not to share that information. I tried adopting that same policy myself with a client recently following a fault finding call out and he told me to go and xxxx myself...weird?

Any help or pointers gratefully received.

Thanks

-------------------------
4.5 day wonder...had to start somewhere
 31 March 2013 09:27 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message



DR2366

Posts: 705
Joined: 09 April 2006

You are zeroing your leads first aren't you?
 31 March 2013 09:34 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message


Avatar for leckie.
leckie

Posts: 1773
Joined: 21 November 2008

For a pfc test??
 31 March 2013 11:10 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message



PatHammond

Posts: 215
Joined: 04 December 2008

For a Zs/Ze test with a Fluke you are supposed to zero the leads and this test will give you the PEFC and then you toggle to the L-N loop test with the leads still in situ (and still zeroed) and the LN loop will give you the PSC which in my case is always greater the 10kA

-------------------------
4.5 day wonder...had to start somewhere
 31 March 2013 11:31 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message


Avatar for leckie.
leckie

Posts: 1773
Joined: 21 November 2008

I've got a meggar, never read about zeroing leads apart from continuity tests. Is this exclusive to Fluke?
 31 March 2013 12:23 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message



Zs

Posts: 2847
Joined: 20 July 2006

Pat, I agree that repairs are expensive. I once had a problem with mine, which I can't remember now, and was quoted over £200 for a repair. So I put it in for calibration at £80 and it came back fixed. That was Martindale in Watford.

That's a bit of a gamble but might help you?

The other thing to bear in mind is that a repaired item will come back with a fresh calibration certificate so if yours is going to be due soon it might sweeten the pill of the repair costs.

Zs
 31 March 2013 04:12 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message


Avatar for hifly.
hifly

Posts: 688
Joined: 06 November 2005

Originally posted by: Zs


The other thing to bear in mind is that a repaired item will come back with a fresh calibration certificate so if yours is going to be due soon it might sweeten the pill of the repair costs.



Zs


when mine was repaired last year fluke wanted another £65, on top of the £250 repair cost for calibration, they did not tell me about this so it came back uncalibrated so i would of also had shipping costs.

it was also away for 3 weeks as it got overlooked.

Plus you only get a 3 month warranty on repairs.

I must say i am not impressed with their service.

mine currently has an intermittent fault where it see's a voltage that's not there so won't do the test, turning off then on seems to fix it until the next time.

-------------------------
Vince

Prove Dead Stay Alive


Christmas Cards for trades people

http://www.tradegreetingcards.com
 31 March 2013 08:11 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message


Avatar for sparkiemike.
sparkiemike

Posts: 1537
Joined: 24 January 2008

Originally posted by: leckie

I've got a meggar, never read about zeroing leads apart from continuity tests. Is this exclusive to Fluke?


I can confirm it is a Fluke function, you connect all 3 leads, they supply a "zero adapter" and press the zero button. Like the Megger my Metrel does not have this function.
 31 March 2013 09:28 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message


Avatar for slittle.
slittle

Posts: 3484
Joined: 22 November 2007

All the more reason for me loving my megger then

I don't want to open an old debate but the industry has always "meggered" an insulation fault, never "fluked" one..... probably tells you fluke owners something.


Stu
 31 March 2013 10:03 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message



PatHammond

Posts: 215
Joined: 04 December 2008

that age old dual

Fluke v Megger

Apple v Microsoft

Brown sauce v Tomato sauce

Ali v Frazier

N Korea v the rest of the world

Thanks for all your help everyone

-------------------------
4.5 day wonder...had to start somewhere
 01 April 2013 11:01 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message


Avatar for dg66.
dg66

Posts: 1670
Joined: 11 January 2008

just do the PEFC test on L-N the instrument cant differentiate between N and E.

-------------------------
Regards

Dave(not Cockburn)
Statistics

See Also:



FuseTalk Standard Edition v3.2 - © 1999-2014 FuseTalk Inc. All rights reserved.