IET logo
 
IET
Decrease font size
Increase font size
Topic Title: Earthing & Bonding
Topic Summary:
Created On: 28 February 2013 09:16 PM
Status: Post and Reply
Linear : Threading : Single : Branch
Search Topic Search Topic
Topic Tools Topic Tools
View similar topics View similar topics
View topic in raw text format. Print this topic.
 28 February 2013 09:16 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message



mrcornbeef

Posts: 245
Joined: 05 December 2005

After a bit of feed back ,,job to install a switched spur via new circuit TT System , can,t find rod im pretty sure it has one couple of 10 mm earths leave DB , Gas bond no sign out side where meter is. Water bond not found small access in kitchen cupboard for stop cock.
After a bit of testing got a ZE of 4 ohms probably rod under floor and water pipe bringing it down good readings to pipe work back to MET.
So im planning on fitting pvc conduit externally to pick up Gas , Water & new Rod.
This little job now becomes big job as im sure all of you guys have encountered ,
Am i over the top, have read the topics regarding testing bonds if not found but if you cant find it you cant fill out eic correctly can you ?
What do you guys do in this situation
 28 February 2013 09:29 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message



aligarjon

Posts: 2800
Joined: 09 September 2005

has customer got any certificates. theres a box that tells position of bonds when they are not obvious. I might be tempted to just fit a new spike if continuity could be confirmed to the gas and water with the 10mm earths obviously going somewhere, although it doesn't feel right.


Gary

-------------------------
Specialised Subject. The Bleedin Obvious. John Cleese
 28 February 2013 09:32 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message



AJJewsbury

Posts: 11259
Joined: 13 August 2003

I'd probably disconnect the 10mm2s from the DB earth bar and continuity test to try and figure out where they go - e.g. low resistance to pipework (bond) or several Ohms (probably rod). I wouldn't be surprised if you had two bonds and no rod as such, the water pipe being pressed into service as a rod. That should give you some ammunition one way or the other.

- Andy.
 28 February 2013 09:43 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message



mrcornbeef

Posts: 245
Joined: 05 December 2005

Thanks for replies , no paper work as usual , gut feeling is gas is bonded under floor but time i move furniture pull up carpets with the not so happy client asking my whats going on you only came to put a switch in ! i might as well just do it at least the next spark will see them where they should be .
There is a boiler upstairs with no bonding i could bond it there and mark it on test cert ,put new rod in got no option with this can,t find it .
fancy coving and plaster dado just to make sure i have a nightmare

The joys of being a sparky!!
 28 February 2013 09:58 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message



aligarjon

Posts: 2800
Joined: 09 September 2005

I did a CU change a few weeks ago and bonded the gas and the water at the boiler that was in the roof void, it was the only gas appliance so no branch pipework . Trying to get out to the meter would have caused a major headache and lots of unneccessary damage trying to get to the water stop tap in the kitchen. It was all noted on the certificate and i advised the client to get the water done at the stop tap if the kitchen was replaced. Sometimes we have to make a call based on local conditions, at the end of the day its a lot safer than when i got there.


Gary

-------------------------
Specialised Subject. The Bleedin Obvious. John Cleese
 08 March 2013 03:12 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message



mrcornbeef

Posts: 245
Joined: 05 December 2005

Another situation i have a job TT where can,t find the rod as usual , there is a 10mm earth to gas meter,, its not something i would do normally but if i fitted and earth block in gas meter and fit new rod from gas box i know its unconventional and maybe rough ! .
but if i indicate on test cert and mark up bond cable at DB end , it would save damaging the property unnecessarily , the rod could be tested by removing link from earth block to gas meter .
your thought please
 08 March 2013 04:33 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message


Avatar for dickllewellyn.
dickllewellyn

Posts: 1150
Joined: 19 March 2010

Originally posted by: mrcornbeef

Another situation i have a job TT where can,t find the rod as usual , there is a 10mm earth to gas meter,, its not something i would do normally but if i fitted and earth block in gas meter and fit new rod from gas box i know its unconventional and maybe rough ! .

but if i indicate on test cert and mark up bond cable at DB end , it would save damaging the property unnecessarily , the rod could be tested by removing link from earth block to gas meter .

your thought please


I would rather see it the other way round. Continuous 10mm to the rod, and a bond from the rod back to the gas if it's the only way, otherwise can you perhaps join a new 10mm in a through crimp, loop the gas pipework with a continuous connection that should be easy enough to disconnect by way of terminal on a 951 clamp, and then terminate at the rod?

-------------------------
Regards
Richard (Dick)

"Insert words of wisdom and/or witty pun here"
 08 March 2013 04:55 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message



mrcornbeef

Posts: 245
Joined: 05 December 2005

yes could do that , any reason you opposed to an earth block in meter cupboard i was thinking of putting a proper earth block in and marking it up only difference is it is in a different than normal location ?
 08 March 2013 05:23 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message



AJJewsbury

Posts: 11259
Joined: 13 August 2003

Anybody know what the gas regs have to say about electrical equipment other than a bonding conductor being located in a gas meter box? I realize that the hazard from a earthing conductor + joint isn't significant compared with the gas bond itself, but I wonder if the gas regs recognise that...
- Andy.
 08 March 2013 10:03 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message


Avatar for dickllewellyn.
dickllewellyn

Posts: 1150
Joined: 19 March 2010

Originally posted by: AJJewsbury

Anybody know what the gas regs have to say about electrical equipment other than a bonding conductor being located in a gas meter box? I realize that the hazard from a earthing conductor + joint isn't significant compared with the gas bond itself, but I wonder if the gas regs recognise that...

- Andy.


I doubt it. They still can't get the hang of us wanting to bond 600mm inside the building rather than 600mm from the outdoor meter, no interest in weather we come through the same entry as a gas pipe, and no clue what it's for anyway.

I'll just put my tar brush away now!

-------------------------
Regards
Richard (Dick)

"Insert words of wisdom and/or witty pun here"
 08 March 2013 10:10 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message


Avatar for UKPN.
UKPN

Posts: 463
Joined: 17 January 2012

"any reason you opposed to an earth block in meter
cupboard?"
no-just dont stick it in the middle of the board!

Regards
Statistics

See Also:



FuseTalk Standard Edition v3.2 - © 1999-2014 FuseTalk Inc. All rights reserved.