IET logo
 
IET
Decrease font size
Increase font size
Topic Title: Roller shutter door controls
Topic Summary:
Created On: 30 January 2013 05:20 PM
Status: Post and Reply
Linear : Threading : Single : Branch
Search Topic Search Topic
Topic Tools Topic Tools
View similar topics View similar topics
View topic in raw text format. Print this topic.
 30 January 2013 05:20 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message



misterben

Posts: 415
Joined: 11 June 2007

Hi,

I have been asked to fix a control box for a roller shutter door, on opening it I found there wasnt much to work on apart from terminals connected to electronic equipment.
Therefore the unit needs replacing in my opinion as there are no serviceable parts! I may be wrong, but does anyone know much about them it is a TS956 electromaten?
Or alternatively can anyone recommend a supplier?

regards
Misterben
 30 January 2013 07:34 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message


Avatar for M.Joshi.
M.Joshi

Posts: 212
Joined: 10 January 2003

It seems like quite an impressive control unit with many options.

Most of the control electronics are under a plastic cover.

There is an installation document which contains some schematics on the manufacturer's website:

Electromaten TS956

There is a graph on page 21 which recommends replacement of the contactor board depending on the amount of switching cycles the unit has carried out.

What exactly is it doing (or not doing)?

-------------------------
M.I.E.T - Forfeited this due to The I.E.T's ridiculous membership rules!

Edited: 30 January 2013 at 07:56 PM by M.Joshi
 30 January 2013 08:06 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message


Avatar for slittle.
slittle

Posts: 3452
Joined: 22 November 2007

Got loads of them on roller shutters across the farms we look after.

What's wrong with it ?


Stu
 05 February 2013 09:31 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message



misterben

Posts: 415
Joined: 11 June 2007

Hi ,

Sorry didnt realise there had been replies, it doesnt do anything at all Stu, it has power on it but im not sure what else I can do with it?


regards
Misterben
 05 February 2013 10:14 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message



jcm256

Posts: 1838
Joined: 01 April 2006

Some of them even Electronic operated controls, have little worm drive that operate the top and bottom limit switches internally in the unit, older type single phase or three phase may have a limit switch fitted at the top and bottom of the door. Check the chain switch in case it is sticking. New control box stand clear about £300 no change.
The plastic covered remote control buttons, they are flimsy and can stick by abuse of operators, open that and check action with ohmmeter if all is well.
 05 February 2013 09:06 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message


Avatar for slittle.
slittle

Posts: 3452
Joined: 22 November 2007

As JCM has said, check the chain switch. That's a favourite for "my door isn't working"

Does the display show anything, as it's normally a good clue as to what it's not happy about ?


Stu
 07 February 2013 05:30 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message



misterben

Posts: 415
Joined: 11 June 2007

thanks for the replies everyone, it has power on the incoming terminals but nothing on the display . It looks like there should be a fault code displayed on an LCD screen, this has nothing on it also.

regards
Misterben
 14 November 2013 11:46 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message


Avatar for Legh.
Legh

Posts: 3472
Joined: 17 December 2004

You might like to try 'nrg automation'. I've used them a couple of times.

Legh

-------------------------
Why do we need Vernier Calipers when we have container ships?

http://www.leghrichardson.co.uk

"Science has overcome time and space. Well, Harvey has overcome not only time and space - but any objections."
Statistics

See Also:



FuseTalk Standard Edition v3.2 - © 1999-2014 FuseTalk Inc. All rights reserved.