IET logo
 
IET
Decrease font size
Increase font size
Topic Title: radial final circuit
Topic Summary:
Created On: 25 January 2013 12:09 PM
Status: Post and Reply
Linear : Threading : Single : Branch
Search Topic Search Topic
Topic Tools Topic Tools
View similar topics View similar topics
View topic in raw text format. Print this topic.
 25 January 2013 12:09 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message


Avatar for zeeper.
zeeper

Posts: 1378
Joined: 11 July 2008

Forgetting the guidance of OSG, where does it say in bs7671 that I cant have a 20A radial feeding a combination of BS4343 and BS1363 outlets.

Because Im struggling to find it.
 25 January 2013 12:42 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message


Avatar for OMS.
OMS

Posts: 18943
Joined: 23 March 2004

It doesn't specifically - it's up to the designer to make it comply, as it's not precluded by BS 7671.

Personally I'd be wondering why anyone would do it that way, but that's another matter based on potential problems with what are probably very mixed load profiles.

Regards

OMS

-------------------------
Failure is always an option
 25 January 2013 12:44 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message



broadgage

Posts: 1246
Joined: 07 August 2007

I dont think that anything probibits this, though it is a bit unusual.
Several plant rooms in a refurbished office building are equiped with 20 amp radial circuits with both 13 amp and 16 amp sockets.

13 amp sockets are allowed on 20 amp radials, as are 16 amp sockets, and I dont see anything to prohibit some of each.
 25 January 2013 12:58 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message



daveparry1

Posts: 5897
Joined: 04 July 2007

I don't see anything wrong with it either, it's a radial circuit so as long as the cable size is sufficient for the breaker size you can put what you like on it?

Dave.
 25 January 2013 01:13 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message


Avatar for zeeper.
zeeper

Posts: 1378
Joined: 11 July 2008

I have a situation here, where I need a 13a socket to fed a load. The other side of the wall is a 16a double fed via swa 20A MCB from 4way sub board.

I just thought thats a shame, but then thought , where does it say I cant.

So other than some guidance notes from the OSG, its down to the designer.

Ill come up with a different solution was just wondering.
 25 January 2013 10:48 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message



geoffsd

Posts: 259
Joined: 15 June 2010

Originally posted by: zeeper

Forgetting the guidance of OSG,

That's a good idea.
 26 January 2013 05:58 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message


Avatar for zeeper.
zeeper

Posts: 1378
Joined: 11 July 2008

That's a good idea


Yeah about as good as your contribution
Statistics

See Also:



FuseTalk Standard Edition v3.2 - © 1999-2014 FuseTalk Inc. All rights reserved.