Increase font size
Topic Title: Garage Suppy
Topic Summary:
Created On: 14 November 2017 09:00 AM
Linear : Threading : Single : Branch
Search Topic Search Topic
Topic Tools Topic Tools
View similar topics View similar topics
View topic in raw text format. Print this topic.
 14 November 2017 09:00 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

mshey

I am a retired electrician and its been a few years since i did the 17th edition , am i right in my understanding of the on site guide with regards to a 6MM SWA that feeds my sons garage it has a 32amp mcb at the supply end and it is 22meters long run underground (500mm) with a Zs 0.75 as i read it (but i may be wrong) the table says i can up the supply mcb to 40amp as long as the zs is within limits but i am going to fit a RCBO so would 40amp be ok.He is looking to fit some woodworking machines in garage to start a business if it takes off we will run a 3phase supply in from the house .
 14 November 2017 11:34 AM
User is online View Users Profile Print this message

AJJewsbury

Table 4D4A says 46A for a 2-core SWA (probably the same for two loaded cores of a 3-core too), since you'll probably need overload protection there's an addition 0.9 factor to take into account, which brings it down to 41.4A - so 40A OPD should be fine. (You could probably squeeze a few more amps out of the cable safely too, as the tables are a bit conservative for typical UK soil conditions, but there doesn't seem to be much need for that complication at the moment).