Increase font size
Topic Title: Earthing a generator
Topic Summary:
Created On: 16 July 2017 10:01 PM
Linear : Threading : Single : Branch
Search Topic Search Topic
Topic Tools Topic Tools
View similar topics View similar topics
View topic in raw text format. Print this topic.
 16 July 2017 10:01 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Lillpete

I am in the process of wiring out a barn which in the future will be connected to the mains however for the next few months/maybe a year it will be run from a 3ph generator.

I've never worked with generators before so am not aware of how they should be treated. should I be earthing to the body of the generator or the mass of earth?

Is there anything else I should be wary of?

It is a grain store with no livestock on site.

Thanks

Peter
 16 July 2017 11:27 PM

broadgage

Presuming that this is a fair size generator, not portable, then I would proceed as follows.

At the generator, connect together all of the following.
The frame of the machine, a local earth rod, any nearby building steel or other services, the star point of the alternator windings, the outgoing neutral, and the outgoing CPC.

A four core plus earth cable is then required from the generator to the origin of the installation.(future location of DNO cut out)
At the origin bond in line with normal practice to any gas, water or oil pipes or structural steelwork.
Protect subcircuits against over current and earth leakage in line with normal practice.

If possible, try to obtain a mains supply as well, even if of very limited capacity indeed.
A few dozen 5 watt LED lamps fed from a 6 amp circuit could be most useful when the generator is shut down or stops unexpectedly.
 17 July 2017 11:28 AM

AJJewsbury

And if the generator doesn't have enough oomph to take out any overcurrent devices used for protection against electric shock within the required times, then an RCD as close as you can after the N-PE link.
- Andy.
 17 July 2017 03:06 PM

mapj1