Increase font size
Topic Title: Testing PC's
Topic Summary: Problems with pass levels on 200Ma continuity test
Created On: 14 January 2014 08:48 AM
Linear : Threading : Single : Branch
Search Topic Search Topic
Topic Tools Topic Tools
View similar topics View similar topics
View topic in raw text format. Print this topic.
 14 January 2014 08:48 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

PatMann

Hi all, I am new to this forum and would like to ask a question about testing of Personal Computers. I have been Pat testing for about five years now and set up my own business in 2011. I now use a Megger Pat420 which is a great machine for saving time on the job. I have problems often though with the preset test for PC testing. The default pass level for the 200 Ma continuity test is set at 0.1 and I find a lot of PC's give readings in the range of 0.11 to about 0.19 and so therefor FAIL the test. I am not an electrician so I am not sure how dangerous this is. I often get asked by office managers if I can change the pass parameters in my test set. Of course, I am able to do this but I am reluctant to change any presets because I presume they are set at the levels recommended by the IEE. My question is:
Would it be dangerous to change the pass parameter to say 0.2 for the PC continuity so that I don't keep getting all these PC failures.
As a follow on to that:
How bad is it if a PC gives a reading of say 0.4+ on the continuity test?
Anyone else have this problem with testers that have preset tests and pass/fail levels?
Advice on this would be appreciated.
 15 January 2014 02:54 AM

kengreen

The answer to the first part of your question lies in the tolerances set by the Brains of the (now defunct) IEE ?

No tolerances ? Then your measurments and tests are meaningless.