Increase font size
Topic Title: HND vs Foundation Degree - Electrical / Electronic Engineering
Topic Summary:
Created On: 15 May 2013 05:47 PM
Linear : Threading : Single : Branch
Search Topic Search Topic
Topic Tools Topic Tools
View similar topics View similar topics
View topic in raw text format. Print this topic.
 15 May 2013 05:47 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

wevest

Hello,

I'm currently an Approved Electrician but would like to head into the world of engineering/

I've been looking at which course to study and had decided that a full-time HND in Electrical & Electronic Engineering over 2 years sounded like the best option. However, I just discovered foundation Degrees and I'm a little confused.

After speaking to colleges/uni's, they've advised me that the two courses are essentially the same thing, just under a different name. But 2 years is a lot of time (and money) to invest and I want to be sure that I'm going for the correct course.

Can anybody shed a little more light on the subject? Are foundation degrees recognized, accepted and sought after by industry? More so than HND's? Which will make me more employable once I've finished?

Thanks in advance,
Sam
 17 May 2013 06:49 PM

Zuiko

I think the advice of the college is about right - there is not much difference between a HND and a foundation degree.

I would advise you look into to the course content and see what suits you and your career plans. You might decide to top up your qualification to a BEng(hons) and the credit transfer you get will depend on what you have previously studied. Foundation degrees that are aligned with a corresponding BEng are 2/3rds of the degree.
 24 May 2013 02:21 PM

j13enson