IET
Decrease font size
Increase font size
Topic Title: Unaccredited Bachelors - Accredited MSc
Topic Summary: Will IET accept an unaccredited bachelors (by 1 year time frame) and accredited masters without a technical report
Created On: 30 January 2014 03:55 PM
Linear : Threading : Single : Branch
Search Topic Search Topic
Topic Tools Topic Tools
View similar topics View similar topics
View topic in raw text format. Print this topic.
 30 January 2014 03:55 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

rrr605

I request some guidance with regards to CEng registration with regards to my educational accreditation.

I did a BEng (Hons) Electrical and Electronic Engineering (Sandwich) from University of Greenwich 2006-2010. However I have just been informed that the degree was only accredited from 2007 hence my degree is not classed as accredited by the IET. At the time I was told my degree was accredited by the IET and mentioned in the university prospectus.

I am currently doing an MSc in Building Services Engineering (LSBU) which is accredited by CIBSE. I believe in my 4 years of work experience I have amassed the required competencies however am hesitant from the accreditation degree point of view.

What would be the best route for CEng? Will the IET expect me to produce a technical report since my Bachelors is a non-accredited degree inspite of my Masters being accredited by a different body? In the event I have to do a technical report I would prefer to it via CIBSE. This is because it will be in a field I am currently working in (electrical Building Services) however I would prefer Chartership with the IET since it has got a much wider global spread in comparison to CIBSE.

I currently have 1.5 year's experience in Electronics R&D and 3 year's experience in Building Services - Electrical.

Regards

Ryan
 30 January 2014 10:37 PM

dlane

Hello Ryan,