Increase font size
Topic Title: Aspirations of attaining CEng - help wanted
Topic Summary: How to choose the best MEng programme and career route
Created On: 23 April 2013 11:41 AM
Linear : Threading : Single : Branch
Search Topic Search Topic
Topic Tools Topic Tools
View similar topics View similar topics
View topic in raw text format. Print this topic.
 23 April 2013 11:41 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

CelticHeathen

Hi all,

I am in the early stages of my post-grad career in Engineering (an Hons degree + 1yr post-grad experience) and am looking to attain my CEng in the long-term but am unsure who/where to turn for advice on the next step.

Basically, I want to do my MEng P/T while continuing my career and building up my continuing professional development (CPD). Can anyone recommend a good MEng programme that is both IET recognised and affordable?

Secondly, I work in the field of Electrical and Power Engineering as a Project Engineer (soon to become Project Manager) but wondered if it may be worth my while aiming for IEng as a stepping stone to CEng?

Lastly, what help can the IET offer in terms of guidance on both counts?

Any assistance is massively appreciated.

Thanks!
 23 April 2013 01:39 PM

Parsley

Ask the IET for a Mentor.

The Mentor the IET linked me with was a great help and encouraged me to continue my application when the IET's feedback was confusing and rather negative at times.

The Mentor will assist you with reviewing your work experience against the competencies required for IEng and CEng applications.

Regards
 24 April 2013 11:21 AM

dhoussein

Parsley is right - a mentor can help you. I'd also get in touch with you local network as many of them have Professional Registration Advisers among their ranks.
 26 April 2013 12:35 PM

DonaldFisher

Hi,