Increase font size
Topic Title: Professional Registration advice
Topic Summary: Clarification on applying for IEng/CEng
Created On: 14 April 2013 07:23 PM
Linear : Threading : Single : Branch
Search Topic Search Topic
Topic Tools Topic Tools
View similar topics View similar topics
View topic in raw text format. Print this topic.
 14 April 2013 07:23 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

jaeso

Hi guys I'm not really sure how this all works but I am interested in the IEng/CEng professional designations as part of my continuing professional development.

I will give you my background first: I did a Computing degree which I finished in 2010, in early 2011 which I started a small IT consultancy abroad to gain some commercial experience. In January this year I started a graduate scheme in the Commercial side of a large Manufacturing/Electrical Engineering company while studying a part time MSc in Technology Management online. My role and future roles will expose me to areas of marketing, product management, business development, new product development. So really I just want some guidance in how the process works and where to get started. I have read many documents here on the IET website as well as the Engineering Council. Here are my questions if anyone is willing to help.

1) My hons degree and MSc aren't accredited by the IET, is this going to be a big problem?
2) Is it worth pursuing the IEng designation first and later the CEng? In your opinions will my areas of work allow me to fulfill the competencies needed for the designations (anyone work in the commercial side of engineering that is an IEng/CEng?), I understand if this question is hard to answer.