Increase font size
Topic Title: Accreditation of a degree
Topic Summary: IET | IEEE
Created On: 04 December 2012 01:43 PM
Linear : Threading : Single : Branch
Search Topic Search Topic
Topic Tools Topic Tools
View similar topics View similar topics
View topic in raw text format. Print this topic.
 04 December 2012 01:43 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

NickyTeasdale

Hi

I am in my final year of an undergraduate degree in Renewable Energy Engineering.

It is brand new and will be accredited. In the course guidelines it says it will be accredited by the IET but that may be changing to the IEEE. What's the difference?
Are they both part of the Engineering Council?

I obviously want to graduate then gain a job so is one more recognised by employers? I understand most employers look for accredited degrees these days, so we're moving in the right direction. I just want to be confident uni are making the right decision for my future.

This is all new to me so any insight would be greatly appreciated!

Thanks

Nicky
 04 December 2012 02:08 PM

amillar

Originally posted by: NickyTeasdale
It is brand new and will be accredited. In the course guidelines it says it will be accredited by the IET but that may be changing to the IEEE. What's the difference? Are they both part of the Engineering Council?

Very simplistically, the IET is the UK body, the IEEE is the US body. Only the IET is linked to the EC.

I obviously want to graduate then gain a job so is one more recognised by employers? I understand most employers look for accredited degrees these days, so we're moving in the right direction.