Increase font size
Topic Title: Advice welcomed
Topic Summary:
Created On: 24 January 2010 03:57 PM
Linear : Threading : Single : Branch
Search Topic Search Topic
Topic Tools Topic Tools
View similar topics View similar topics
View topic in raw text format. Print this topic.
 24 January 2010 03:57 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

raflad1982

Hello all, this is my first post and I'm after a bit of advice so bear with me.

My current situation:

Currently working for a major Railway Infrastructure company in the SHEQ department. Very shortly I will be registering on the companies IET accredited PD scheme.
I've been a TMIET since 2005 and EngTech since 2009 (applications take ages to go through!). I've been working in engineering at technician level since 2003. I hold a full advanced modern apprenticeship and a LCGI in Engineering. I'm currently studying with the Open University towards a Bachelors degree

I intended to progress towards IEng as my next goal.

My question is, what are members thoughts as to what degree I should go for with the OU? I've been working towards a BEng, but there is also a BSc Hons in Technology and a BSc Hons on the Open Programme. Would it matter whether or not the degree was in a named subject? (i.e. engineering/technology) or is the content of the qualification more important? (eg what modules I've actually undertaken)

Am I right in thinking the company PD scheme will be just as important (if not more so) than my degree as I work towards IEng?

I intend to go onto Masters level study after I completed my undergraduate studies, in anyones experience is your first degree irrelevant once you gain a Masters?

Sorry for the confusing questions and rambling - theres just so many options available I'm feeling a little overwhelmed!

Advice would be most appreciated.

-------------------------
Richard Middleton BSc (Open) EngTech TMIET LCGI
 24 January 2010 06:07 PM

westonpa