Increase font size
Topic Title: Design and Technology cirriculum in secondary schools changes
Topic Summary:
Created On: 23 February 2013 08:42 AM
Linear : Threading : Single : Branch
Search Topic Search Topic
Topic Tools Topic Tools
View similar topics View similar topics
View topic in raw text format. Print this topic.
 23 February 2013 08:42 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

TerryBarnaby

I am an electronics and software Engineer involved with instrumentation systems rather than a teacher, but I have been heavily involved in the Greenpower project (Link removed an excellent engineering challenge) within the D&T department at our local school.
Has anyone seen the proposed changes to the D&T curriculum taught at schools ? I believe engineers need to be "enthused" during their formative years in secondary school. D&T is the subject area to do this, but the new proposals seem to take out most of the engineering aspects that are currently within D&T.
Forum on this: www dot believeindandt dot org dot uk/component/kunena/
Proposal: https://media.education.gov.uk/assets/files/pdf/d/design%20and%20technology%2004-02-13.pdf

Is the IET involved in helping formulate schools curriculum ?

Edited: 23 February 2013 at 09:05 AM by TerryBarnaby
 27 February 2013 12:00 PM

PADAVIES

The IET will be responding to the consultation on the proposed curriculum. IET Members and Fellows are invited to contribute to this - please look out for the call for input on the consultations page www.theiet.org/policy/submissions/consultations/. Please note that we will also be commenting on the proposals for the new computing curriculum which are also contained in the consultation document.
Regards,
Paul

-------------------------
Paul Davies
Manager, Policy Dept.
Institution of Engineering and Technology.
 15 March 2013 11:43 AM

Ipayyoursalary